We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, luxurious and very close to the harbour front.”
Review of Villa Varos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Varos
Ranked #23 of 195 Split B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Fantastic little hotel in an old villa. About 5 minutes on foot from the cental bus station (which is ~ 30 minutes by public transport from the airport). Close by the harbor, the old Diocletian's palace and in the middle of many very enjoyable restaurants.
Very friendly staff and clean, modern and very quiet rooms at a reasonable price.
I can highly recommend this accomodation for your stay in Split!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gweikert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

... and we'd stay here again in a heartbeat. As always, read the reviews with your own preferences in mind. Villa Varos is on a narrow street within easy walking distance of the main attractions. We liked that feeling of being part of a real neighborhood. We found wonderful, authentic restaurants just around the corner and "adopted" one for breakfast for the four days we were there. The people we met at the Villa and the restaurant staffs were really friendly and happy to practice their English. (Almost everyone speaks English). Our room was really good and was cleaned daily. I do agree that the hot water is a little limited but that's easily managed .... Just convince your partner to let you shower first!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyGuy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived in Split only to find we could not get a car anywhere near the address. It transpired that the Villa Varos was in a very narrow alley. No way can it be called a hotel. Rooms or tenement --yes. The rooms we had(two couples) were small,clean but no facilities such as a glass to drink out of . Pictured one sees kitchenette type rooms---no such thing for us. We did not have enough room to open a case without placing it on the bed. The view from our window was washing hanging out next door. There was banging from workmen and a dog barking. I was so upset to find I had been responsible for making this booking.

Room Tip: Request a room on the larger side with facilities such as drinking glasses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sut2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The location was great, 5 mins to practically any part of the city centre. The room itself was functional and fairly clean.
Our main grumble was getting to Split from a late night/early morning flight. We had to wait until the assigned check in time (nothing wrong with that) but when we did check in we went to bed for a few hours sleep before going out for dinner. When we were asleep the cleaning lady let herself into the room (I don't think we heard her knock as we were both wearing earplugs) and backed out when she saw us as i woke up. Unfortunately this also happened the next morning at 10am!
There was particularly poor sound separation between the rooms as well.
Maybe try somewhere else I'd say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife & I stayed at Villa Varos for our two nights in Split. We had stayed in apartment-type rooms for the rest of our stay in Croatia, so Villa Varos offered a nice comparison as more of a hotel (albeit not a luxury hotel). The room was clean, spacious enough, and reasonable value considering it's a mere 5 minute walk from the Riva, 10 minutes from Diocletian's Palace. Joanne (the owner) was extremely helpful in providing activity and restaurant suggestions, and went out of her way to help us book an early morning cab ride to the airport. The only negative (mentioned by other reviewers here) is that the hot water heater capacity only lasted for about a 5 minute shower, so if you take longer showers than that, be prepared.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuse_is_loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here with three friends August 2013.

We had two double rooms both of which were clean, comfortable and good value for money.

Reception were really friendly and helpful and pointed out some great restaurants and bars a short walk away.

5 minute walk to Diocletians Palace along Riva

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJCOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay here. Nice clean room. Helpful staff and good with their recommendations on where is best to eat. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a very good location go to Villa Varos. I will be back



Geoff
New Zealand

Room Tip: I listed the restaurant and fitness as average as they are not there but the staff helped me find al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Split Luxury Rooms
0.2 mi away
B&B Kastel 1700
B&B Kastel 1700
#28 of 58 in Split
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#19 of 58 in Split
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
House Sandra
House Sandra
#10 of 195 in Split
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaleta Apartments
Kaleta Apartments
#18 of 195 in Split
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peruzovic Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Varos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Varos

Address: Ulica Miljenka Smoje 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range: $93 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Varos 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa is located just a minutes walk from the city center. In the area you have an array of local restaurants which offer all kinds of menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Varos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Varos Hotel Split
Varos Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing