We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”
Review of Hotel Dujam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dujam
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Split
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed in Dujam on a business trip and thank GOD I only styed for one night. Furniture is bit old and the beds not very comfortable. Generally it feels like a hotel form the late 70's or 80's. The bathroom was clean and very basic (take your own shampoo!). The Hotel offered wireless but it was hard to connect and very slow. Breakfast is really basic with not so big selection, if it is for one night you will survive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    23
    17
    11
See reviews for
4
17
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business trip. Hotel is easy to find. Furniture is bit old. Bathroom was clean and basic. There is a free parking if needed. Hotel is offering wireless but it was hard to connect. Breakfast is realy basic with not so big selection. Price for stay is also average. Maybe the hostel part is little bit better value for money

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erohrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Weald, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed two nights in the hostel part of the hotel. The rooms are clean as are the shower rooms. For the cost (£30 for a twin room per night) you can not go wrong for a short stop over. For a longer stay the walk into the centre of about 15 mins may get a bit much. There are some very good value eating places nearby.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget then take the Hostel part. No en-suit or air con but this was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_g_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am not one of those persons who leaves a bad review for the sake of complaining and am not overly fussy with hotels. However I must say my stay at Hotel Dujam was horrendous - and I was only there for 9 hours!!!!

The main problems were:

1. Location. I knew it wasnt next to the waterfront, but the immediate surroundings are terrible with little amenities available and is in the middle of a concrete jungle of tower blocks.
2. The room was very cramped, aged and above all, extremely musty and smoky. I am not adverse to the smell of cigarette smoke (I even smoke myself from time to time) but this was not nice when you can smell it in your pillow as you go to sleep.
3. Our main problem that made the stay so awful was the behaviour of the night porter. We turned up late (around midnight) after our plane was delayed for 2 hours due to the weather in Split so arrived hungry and tired. Firstly, there was no water and he refused to open the restaurant to let us fill our bottles up. There were no shops in the vicinity that were open at all and having just arrived in Split, we had no idea where to go. The porter spoke little English and made no attempt whatsoever to help. What kind of hotel has no provision for late arriving guests?! Absolutely pathetic. On top of this, when we asked him to change a 100kn note into some coins for their vending machine (which had no water - only soft drinks - we were desperate by now) he TOOK THE MONEY AND HID IT THINKING WE WOULD FORGET ABOUT IT!!!!! Only when we challenged him and raised our voices he magically remembered he'd put it in the office and gave it back. Total [--]. What kind of hotel employs staff like this. When I then asked again for water he closed his eyes, pretended to sleep and shooed us away.

When we complained in the morning, the girl on the desk was very understanding and polite, but by then the damage was done. It sickens me to think we paid £70 for the pleasure of our 9 hours at Hotel Dujam.

Stay away from this place. Pay the tenner extra and dont make our mistake and stay somewhere better located and, above all, a place that doesnt employ staff like this and can actually deal with the late arrival of a guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is clean, non-descrip and a good 15 minute walk from the water front. Glad we are just passing through as it would be worth paying a bit more to be closer in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwbasnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a very acceptable budget Hotel for a short stay in Split. Our double room (which I gather was in the Hotel and not the Hostel) was basic but otherwise clean and comfortable. Nothing outstanding but very good value for what's being offered.

The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good, with quite a good variety on offer. I've certainly stayed in Hotels with a higher star rating than this one where the choices have been more limited.

The drawback in staying here is the location - it's a 20-30 minute walk to the Split waterfront area (which includes the train station and ferry terminals). While it's an easy walk I can see it being an inconvenience for a stay of more than a few days (as our stay was a single night this wasn't a big issue). On the other hand the bus station - for a connection to Trogir, among other places - is on the way to the waterfront and is perhaps only 10-15 minutes away.

The decision whether or not to stay here is a trade-off between good value/reasonable facilities and a less the perfect location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed only one night in the hotel part of "Dujam" in Split. The hostel and hotel is within the same building, just in different floors. The staff was very friendly, well organized, and quite helpful in providing directions. They even have city maps, hotel flayers and business cards, and newspapers for tourists - overall it is really well organized place, although bit far away from Split centre.
The hotel rooms are very clean, not too small, have TV, free wireless and air condition that can be used as heating during colder days. The bathroom is basic, but provides everything necessary: clean towels, shower caps and shampoo/soap in the shower.
The hotel is easy to reach if you travel by car. However, there are only 4 parking spaces within very small one way street, and it is unclear where the next parking is if these 4 places are already taken.
Overall, this hotel is really worth to stay for a night or two, taking into account longer walk to the town centre for the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icetealemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Marjela
Villa Marjela
#44 of 55 in Split
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Zagreb
#48 of 55 in Split
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#49 of 55 in Split
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#33 of 55 in Split
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Consul
Hotel Consul
#39 of 55 in Split
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#21 of 55 in Split
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dujam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dujam

Property: Hotel Dujam
Address: Velebitska 27, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dujam 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dujam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dujam Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing