We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Kastel 1700
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked here very last minute in June 2013 for one night. We were upgraded to a sea view room which was lovely, very comfortable and nice views. Strongly recommend and at a good price for what you receive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
103
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location couldn't be better, right on the waterfront where all the action is, but I didn't find it noisy in either of the rooms I occupied on the two separate nights I stayed in May 2013, despite both nights seeing major party events.
The first room I had, Room 2, is quite luxurious, with a window overlooking the promenade and sea. The second room was also very nice, with a window overlooking the small piazza with the statue. Split is a lovely city, with lots to see and do, and of course great eating everywhere.
The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the ferries, the train station and the bus station.
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, with excellent English, and the breakfast choice is really good. I won't look for anywhere else to stay when I return to Split.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wodgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Kastel and were very pleased with it. The location can't be better -- right on the Riva promenade and harbor waterfront of Split's old town, near Diocletian's Palace. Access to the hotel is from the rear, via a side street off the Riva, through a public square, and down a little dead-end street. The entrance to the hotel is up a flight of steps from the street, a bit of a hassle with luggage. Our room was on the same floor as the lobby/reception desk. It was a triple room (which we had reserved even though we were only 2 people because it was the only type of room available when we reserved.) The triple room was large and on a corner of the building, with nice views out onto the Riva and waterfront and also onto the side street. The room was very nicely furnished and clean, and the excellent soundproofed windows kept out all noise from the streets. One small issue was that the towels smelled faintly of cigarette smoke.

The reception staff was extremely friendly, spoke excellent English, and was very helpful. She told us of a place we could park our car for free on a little dead-end residential street only a couple of blocks away. This saved us a lot of money we otherwise would have had to pay if we had left our car in the very expensive public lot right on the Riva.

The continental breakfast was good enough, served in the hotel's breakfast room that shares a wall with the Palace. However, breakfast is extra cost (50 kuna/person/day) and is overpriced for what you get, but more convenient than seeking a cheaper breakfast in the city.

Overall we highly recommend the Hotel B&B Kastel 1700 for a stay close to all the sights and restaurants of old town Split.

Room Tip: Triple room on same floor as reception desk is great -- large and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a very small establishment located right in the heart of the old town. All facilities are very compact. We had a studio suite on the top floor and getting the suitcases up those stairs was not easy! However, our beds were comfy and the tiny bathroom very functional. We also appreciated the helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandraselga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location in the old town was convenient but our sea front room overlooked a noisy café and promenade area. We closed the windows to get some quiet and tried the A/C but it was quite warm in the room for sleeping. The bathroom was tiny and my husband hit his head on the large water heater mounted over the toilet. The shower was very moldy. When we checked out the clerk refused to take a credit card in spite of being surrounded by many stickers advertised them. Luckily we had enough cash. We retrieved our car from the recommended nearby parking lot and had to pay over $50 for less than a day. We would not stay again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 2.
Twin beds. Small kitchen, tiny bathroom. Because everything is so narrow, that is not surprising though. But it had everything we needed. Together with the prime location I would recommend staying there.
Breakfast was a simple affair which we used only once.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location of Hotel B&B Villa Kastel in perfect - right in walls of Diocletian's Palace. The staff is very helpful. I didn't opt for the breakfast option because there are so many good breakfast options in the neighborhood. The rooms are small but have comfy beds and nice interior design. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the alley because it can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaS539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#9 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peristil
Hotel Peristil
#12 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#22 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
0.2 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#18 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Property: B&B Kastel 1700
Address: Mihovilova Shirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing