We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Split”
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B&B Kastel 1700
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

On arrival in Split there is a bus from the airport to take you into the city - they meet most flights and drop you off at the harbour - price 30kuna (approx £3.50). There is also a bus back to the airport at the same place - just check the day before.
The Hotel was a bit elusive but thanks to good directions from the hotel website we found it fairly easily. Hotel is very central, great position (right in the Diocletian's Palace) for exploring Split. Staff were very friendy and helpful and the rooms were clean and pleasant.
Split is a lovely city with a variety of good restaurants and bars, the Riva is a beautuful place to sit in the sun and people watch and there also some nice restaurants along there that are not too pricey.
There are lots of ferry trips- Jadrolinija Lines- we went to Brac - a lovely Island with very scenic bay but very quiet and not much else to do there without travelling around the Island.
While we were in Split we got a much better rate of exchange than back in UK.
All in all great hotel, lovely city, a relaxing short break.

Room Tip: Our room (No 3) overlooked the square and whilst we were concerned it would be noisy this was not th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swaddy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for B&B Kastel 1700
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 243 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

We started our holiday in Croatia in beautiful Split staying in this wonderful B&B. This is in such a great location, reasonably priced and in a great hub to travel around the rest of the country. It was really easy to find after arriving from the bus station.

Our room overlooked the square and we had a wonderful time looking around the walled city, running along the waterfront and having great meals out here for a couple of nights. The staff were friendly and we found them to be knowledgeable about the buses and ferry times to help us with our onward travels. Nice touch having free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nj_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Location was great.

BUT....

Room was in a separate building, and not a 'luxury suite' as advertised - just a standard room, really.

Staff - terrible, terrible service. The lady we dealt with - straight black hair, possibly late 20s, was dreadful. She was working on the following days: Thurs-Sun 5th-8th April 2012.

We enquired about the lack of wi-fi (even though we paid for this facility), she said: use the reception public PCs. For my own private business? In a building across town? Poor.

Room not cleaned - we questioned this. She said cleaner will do it next day. I complained, she didn't seem to care. No toilet paper - told her this, but still had to leave room later that day to collect some from reception. Really????

Going down hill....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenjaminBreeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The B & B Villa Kastel was a haven in a great spot right next to the wall inside Diocletian's palace. The room was cosy and comfortable. Loved the unplastered piece of wall showing the original wall underneath. Despite the cafes, restaurants etc nearby it was really quiet once the window was closed. great view of harbour and square below.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, you might like to request a room on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I was very well welcomed and assisted in this perfectly located hotel in the heart of the Diocletian palace. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 3, it is located on the ground floor, there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

It is a nice b&b if you wanna get a taste of the center. I you are out to get some rest i wont recommend this hotel. Noisy and the beds are below any standard.
Eventually when you wanna pay u will have one cash price and differenent with a credit card. Make youself clear with this thing so you do not fall in this century old catch (which is a custom all over Croatia)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lebedce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed one night-Sept 10, 2011. Great location-right in the middle of everything. Very easy to get to-directions are foolproof. Staff pleasant and helpful with directions and dining reservations. Could not believe how quiet room was when windows were closed-there is a busy restaurant and nightclub in piazza below. Great view of promenade and water. Very clean and good sized for an old city hotel. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired-thank goodness there are plenty of places to grab a good espresso. Is it a five star luxury hotel? No, but if you want a clean spacious room close to everything, especially when you are only there to sleep, this is the place. Would definitely recommend and stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#14 of 56 in Split
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#24 of 56 in Split
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmont Hotel Heritage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peristil
Hotel Peristil
#13 of 56 in Split
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gothic Palace - Luxury Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Address: Mihovilova Shirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Split
Price Range: $62 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing