We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in Split”
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B&B Kastel 1700
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Split”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We arrived in Split without a reservation. I was pleasantly surprise to find this B&B very centrally located. The staff was very nice and the location was excellent. It was off of the main corridor. We got a room with ocean view, we also had a view of the corridor where the restaurants are located. We stayed one night and we took a ferry to Hvar the next few nights. The staff was kind enough to store one bag while we were in Hvar. The room was very clean and nice decor. The bathroom was a bit small but overall it was a great value for the location and the accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexichica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    113
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
104
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Kastel for two nights at the end of the April 2011.
This is a nice place to stay in Split.  It's very central, the price is good and  the rooms are clean.  One thing to be careful of: there is no lift so if you have heavy suitcases and have a room on the third floor it could be a bit of a hassle.  A small minor complaint of my husband is that the pillows are too high although this was great for me in my fifth month of pregnancy.  Other than that it's a great place and very helpful and informative service and the reception desk. Free Wi-Fi is a great bonus!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The hotel is perfectly located, easy to reach, and recently renoved. but the rooms are a bit tiny, not so well renovated (nothing is straight, the floors and the walls are tilting) and the bathroom (clean) not very well ventilated. the romm are not really "soundproof"
The breakfast is really too expansive, you should better go on the Riva to get breakfast.

The location is perfect... in the old city, close to ferry and bus station.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenelab_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My family and I have just returned from a trip to Europe, one of the cities we visited being Split. I decided on staying at B&B Kastel on the strength of the reviews I read on this site.
I agree with the other reviewers and say that B & B Kastel is superbly located our apartment overlooked a beautiful vibrant square. It was walking distance to the main port and all the sites But as much as I liked the location, my family and I were disappointed as far as the accomodation was concerned. We had a two bedroom apartment, with kitchenette. Frankly the kitchenette was a waste of space, try to imagine what it would be like cooking in a space no bigger than a broom closet. Only use it could have been put to was for boiling water for tea or coffee, but as there were only saucepans provided for doing this I didn't bother.Better to have provided a bigger bathroom, which too was very cramped. This I could have tolerated, if only there were some hooks or rails in the bathroom to hang one's towels , and even a shelf above the basin to put toiletries on.Really that's not too much to ask for is it? Maybe some sheets on the bed that don't have holes in them would be a nice touch too! Oh and nearly forgot to mention the mould on the walls in the hall!! Definitely not value for money, 140 euros a night for the room we had was overpriced. I can say this as we stayed in two fantastic apartments on this trip one in Dubrovnik (Karmen Apartments) and the other in Padova Italy (Padova Residence) for less and both were luxurious compared to B&B Kastel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live2travel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kastelsplit, Director of Sales at B&B Kastel 1700, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Thank You for Your reviewe,

We accept your advice and we have decided to renovate this apartment for next season, so for the next time you come, and I really hope You will ,or our future guests, this apartment will be a much nicer

Kind regards, Ana Romac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night at the beginning of a 10 night stay in Croatia. Hotel is in a very good location, you couldn't be closer to the old town. Don't park in the car park nearest to the hotel use the one opposite where the ferries depart (entrance on the left just past the bus terminal) which was much cheaper at £10 a day. Found the hotel relatively easily and checked in earlier than was advertised so that was good news. Not so good news was that our room was on the 3rd floor - good views but no lifts so we had to lug our heavy cases upstairs ourselves. No one offered to take them for us so not sure how older people would have got on! Room was an ok size with a nice view of the sea to the left and the square to the right, bathroom on the small aisde and could do with updating. The plus side to this hotel is obviously the location and the fact that its built into the old town walls however, i would say it was over priced for what it was. Bars and resturants all very close by, although if you want an early night it can be quite noisey because of that fact - nothing really bad though. When we were there there was quite a bad smell coming from the water front, not sure if it was the drains or the sea so that did spoil it a bit when sitting in the bars.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFifi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My friend and I have just returned from staying here for 3 nights. Whilst the location was fantastic (right in the middle of everything) it was a basic apartment we found ourselves in. We had 2 twin bedrooms, which were fine, but the bathroom was tiny, with a handheld shower the only means of washing yourself. The 'kitchen' was even smaller. A hot plate, sink, cups and plates and a fridge. There is no way you could cook anything, unless you wanted to heat soup or hot water to make tea or coffee, assuming you had brought your own from home or at a supermarket. Having said that, the rooms were very clean and bright and over looked the square where the hotel is situated. The AC unit was a very nice touch as it was extremely hot in the rooms. The receptionist was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was basic, but ample for us. The only other gripe I had was that within our apartment we had no communal space, no living room so if there has have been 4 adults we would really have struggled to fit in and used the bathroom and kitchen. We had the option of a small double room, a triple room or the apartment, I wish we had taken the triple room and saved a little money as I booked the apartment for the space and convienence which I feel we didn't get.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickiandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We spent three nights at Hotel Kastel. The room was very nice, clean and cosy, we just missed a free wifi internet access. The price of the room is a little bit expensive, but the location (ideal !) is worth it. The small drawback is the noise: as it is just in the heart of the area with the eateries, bars, etc., it is noisy at night (even very late in the night). The breakfast was great and plentiful. We had a very pleasant stay there !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilleetChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#11 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#21 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#10 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Property: B&B Kastel 1700
Address: Mihovilova Shirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing