We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Marjela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marjela
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Split
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Hotel is a little out of the way and hard to find first time but is only a 15 minute walk to the Riva. Staff very helpful (sorted a taxi and early breakfast, gave directions and were chatty), rooms are clean, place is tidy and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    23
    16
    6
See reviews for
6
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Agree with the previous review regarding how to get to the hotel the first time. Its only difficult the first time round and taking a taxi from the Port/Bus Terminal is the cheapest way. After you arrive at the hotel, the hotel staff is very good at providing detailed instruction as to the quickest walking route to the center of town/castle/port/bus terminal area. It literally is only a 10 min walk at the most.

The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. I would definetely recommend this place to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

My critique of the hotel is pretty much the same as the previous four, which are right on -- so I won't go into that..

However, I do want to add some logistical info that might help the first time visitor to Split: First off, don't miss this place -- Diocletian's Palace is amazing, and the plaza/promenade by the harbor is also wonderful. Also, if you have some time, take the bus to Trogir for an afternoon (1/2 hour trip).

We hit about 15 cities on our month-long trip, and this was the only hotel that we found it necessary to take a cab to because we feared we would never find it -- and we were right!! -- We trundled our suitcases by foot or by tram to all of the others. As you have no doubt read, Split is really "split" by the palace, so if you want to take the cheapeast cab ride (about E9), you want to catch a cab on the side of the palace/promenade that is furthest from the train/bus station - a very nice ten minute walk along the harbor and in front of the palace.

However, once you do get to the hotel, it is a nice and simple walk to the Palace area and back. You only need the cab one time -- to find the place. We even walked back to the bus station with our suitcases-on-wheels -- and we are Seniors.

Would we stay at this hotel again -- definitely

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SJTCHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

This was the cheapest hotel in Split when we searched for somewhere to stay on our last night following 2 weeks backpacking. The rooms were very clean, bathrooms small but fine, but the location lets it down slightly.

Although it was only 15 minutes walk into the old town, the maps of its location on any website are rubbish (the best map is the hotel leaflet in the hotel!...completely unhelpful when you're looking for it!) - you can get the number 17 bus from the docks/main bus terminal and get off 2 stops after the infamous Hayduk Split Stadium (on the right). However, we spent a good half an hour looking for it, asking locals and eventually spotting it behind a few trees in the middle of a baron wasteland between high rise flats, which can only be described as the Croatian Peckham!

The staff were extremely helpful in directing us to a dirt cheap pizzeria close by. There seemed to be confusion as to the time of breakfast, the lady on reception told us 7am, and we decided to book a taxi through the hotel to the airport the following morning (costing 250 kuna (£26) ) rather than getting a ridiculously early bus back to the centre and then the airport bus thereafter. However, upon getting up ready to leave, hoping to have a quick breakfast at 7am before taxi at 7:20am, we awoke the night-shift member of staff who sleeps in a room by the desk who told us breakfast was at 7:30am (depending on when the next person to man reception would arrive!).

To their credit, he arrived and set breakfast out so that we could eat before getting our taxi. Nothing special, cereals, bread, yoghurts and pastries - but everything was very fresh.

Now that I know where the hotel is and the correct time of breakfast, I would definitely suggest staying here - despite where it is.

  • Liked — staff friendliness, cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed for two nights. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and has been extremely helpful. It takes only 15 minutes to walk to the centre of Split. This hotel is a perfect location for a short visit of the city.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thiernets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay, but I do not think this hotel would be right for everybody. There are some things you should know before booking. The best parts of this hotel are the clean/simple rooms, friendly staff, and quiet nights. The rooms are rather spartan but have the basics. Staff was fun just to sit and chat with. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the center of town and it is located in a bland area- there is no view of anything really. We took a taxi and were glad to do so, since we would have never found it otherwise. Breakfast is OK, but there is no fruit and only instant coffee. There are not phones in the rooms and no internet access. We loved Split and simply used the hotel as a place to sleep and get advice, so this hotel worked out well for us. I would not choose this hotel as a destination in and of itself.

  • Liked — staff was friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — lack of interesting surroundings
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kenven08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

What can I say - my family loved this place! And we loved Pladvjo! (the sobe is named after his daughter)

We planned to stay here for 3 nights over Christmas. But when we arrived in Zagreb by train, we found a city buried in snow/ice and a super small rental car that I had very little faith in to get us across the mountains. So at the last minute, we decided to head straight to the coast and get to Split a day earlier. Thankfully there were rooms available and we stayed there for 4 nights total.

But we still had to get out of the snow first. It took an hour just to get to the A1 in Zagreb, and once on the freeway, we saw a total of 2 salt trucks and unplowed stretches of road. After a 7(!!!) hour drive, we saw the welcoming lights of Villa Marjela. Thank goodness for our GPS because without it, our 7-hour drive would have been much longer.

The sobe is tucked away in the middle of a residential area. Parking is really tight in the area, so I was really grateful to find out that they have a parking lot. Unfortunately, it was Christmas Eve, and the entire city was pretty much shut down for the holiday. We had been so desperate to make it to Split that dinner wasn't really on our minds until it was too late. Vladjo checked us in and then tried to call around for dining options, but not surprisingly, there were none. We walked into town (a nice 10 min walk away) and only found 2 bars - none offering food - open so we came back. Vladjo helped us out by heating up some milk and water for us and gave us some stuff from their breakfast offerings. It was one of the simplest and most satisfying meals I've had.

They clean the rooms everyday (and do a great job). The rooms we had were spacious with king and twin size beds in them. One of my fav features was that there was a heated multi-layer rack for towels (or clothes) for quick drying in the bathrooms. The only downside was that because Croatia still allows smoking indoors, some folks smoked underneath my room, so the cig smoke was coming in through the vents. We weren't in our rooms all that much, so it was just a minor nuisance.

  • Liked — cleanliness and hospitality
  • Disliked — smoking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank grits30338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.3 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
0.5 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#20 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Consul
Hotel Consul
#40 of 57 in Split
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#49 of 57 in Split
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Vice
Hotel Villa Vice
#31 of 57 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marjela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marjela

Property: Villa Marjela
Address: Jobova 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marjela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marjela is a family run hotel near the centre of Split. Its air-conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi and cable TV. All rooms have a private bathroom. Some rooms have a balcony, and there is a free parking space for each room.A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room. The front desk is open 24 hours a day.The villa is just a short walk from the Diocletian’s Palace situated near Marjan hill, wich is good for any type of recreation, and near city stadium „Poljud“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Marjela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marjela Hotel Split
Marjela Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing