We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find, very friendly/helpful staff”
Review of Villa Marjela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Marjela
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Split
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Difficult to find, very friendly/helpful staff”
Reviewed August 22, 2008

This was the cheapest hotel in Split when we searched for somewhere to stay on our last night following 2 weeks backpacking. The rooms were very clean, bathrooms small but fine, but the location lets it down slightly.

Although it was only 15 minutes walk into the old town, the maps of its location on any website are rubbish (the best map is the hotel leaflet in the hotel!...completely unhelpful when you're looking for it!) - you can get the number 17 bus from the docks/main bus terminal and get off 2 stops after the infamous Hayduk Split Stadium (on the right). However, we spent a good half an hour looking for it, asking locals and eventually spotting it behind a few trees in the middle of a baron wasteland between high rise flats, which can only be described as the Croatian Peckham!

The staff were extremely helpful in directing us to a dirt cheap pizzeria close by. There seemed to be confusion as to the time of breakfast, the lady on reception told us 7am, and we decided to book a taxi through the hotel to the airport the following morning (costing 250 kuna (£26) ) rather than getting a ridiculously early bus back to the centre and then the airport bus thereafter. However, upon getting up ready to leave, hoping to have a quick breakfast at 7am before taxi at 7:20am, we awoke the night-shift member of staff who sleeps in a room by the desk who told us breakfast was at 7:30am (depending on when the next person to man reception would arrive!).

To their credit, he arrived and set breakfast out so that we could eat before getting our taxi. Nothing special, cereals, bread, yoghurts and pastries - but everything was very fresh.

Now that I know where the hotel is and the correct time of breakfast, I would definitely suggest staying here - despite where it is.

  • Liked — staff friendliness, cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    24
    18
    6
See reviews for
7
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bretagne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed for two nights. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and has been extremely helpful. It takes only 15 minutes to walk to the centre of Split. This hotel is a perfect location for a short visit of the city.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thiernets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay, but I do not think this hotel would be right for everybody. There are some things you should know before booking. The best parts of this hotel are the clean/simple rooms, friendly staff, and quiet nights. The rooms are rather spartan but have the basics. Staff was fun just to sit and chat with. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the center of town and it is located in a bland area- there is no view of anything really. We took a taxi and were glad to do so, since we would have never found it otherwise. Breakfast is OK, but there is no fruit and only instant coffee. There are not phones in the rooms and no internet access. We loved Split and simply used the hotel as a place to sleep and get advice, so this hotel worked out well for us. I would not choose this hotel as a destination in and of itself.

  • Liked — staff was friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — lack of interesting surroundings
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kenven08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

What can I say - my family loved this place! And we loved Pladvjo! (the sobe is named after his daughter)

We planned to stay here for 3 nights over Christmas. But when we arrived in Zagreb by train, we found a city buried in snow/ice and a super small rental car that I had very little faith in to get us across the mountains. So at the last minute, we decided to head straight to the coast and get to Split a day earlier. Thankfully there were rooms available and we stayed there for 4 nights total.

But we still had to get out of the snow first. It took an hour just to get to the A1 in Zagreb, and once on the freeway, we saw a total of 2 salt trucks and unplowed stretches of road. After a 7(!!!) hour drive, we saw the welcoming lights of Villa Marjela. Thank goodness for our GPS because without it, our 7-hour drive would have been much longer.

The sobe is tucked away in the middle of a residential area. Parking is really tight in the area, so I was really grateful to find out that they have a parking lot. Unfortunately, it was Christmas Eve, and the entire city was pretty much shut down for the holiday. We had been so desperate to make it to Split that dinner wasn't really on our minds until it was too late. Vladjo checked us in and then tried to call around for dining options, but not surprisingly, there were none. We walked into town (a nice 10 min walk away) and only found 2 bars - none offering food - open so we came back. Vladjo helped us out by heating up some milk and water for us and gave us some stuff from their breakfast offerings. It was one of the simplest and most satisfying meals I've had.

They clean the rooms everyday (and do a great job). The rooms we had were spacious with king and twin size beds in them. One of my fav features was that there was a heated multi-layer rack for towels (or clothes) for quick drying in the bathrooms. The only downside was that because Croatia still allows smoking indoors, some folks smoked underneath my room, so the cig smoke was coming in through the vents. We weren't in our rooms all that much, so it was just a minor nuisance.

  • Liked — cleanliness and hospitality
  • Disliked — smoking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank grits30338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2007

This is a very small and basic hotel, the decoration is kept to a minimal both inside and outside of the room, they only provide breakfast as there is no dinning room but still keep the essentials: wardrobe -that was big-, as it was the bed -huge-, TV and toilet with shower. However, the staff -or should I say family- are extremely helpful, are very approachable and really make your stay at the hotel the more comfortable possible. They were our touristic guides for our entire stay at Split. Should I come back to Split, I definitely go back to this small but very friendly hotel.

  • Liked — Staff service
  • Disliked — Access to the place
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Automat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

The family that runs the Villa Marjela makes their guests feel like friends and family. The hotel is beautiful, the bathrooms are quite big by European standards, and the place is SPOTLESS....the cleanest hotel I've ever seen. Breakfast was very good and the walk to the main shopping area and the water was 10 minutes. I'll stay there again on my next trip to beautiful Croatia!

  • Liked — CLEAN! (and the wonderful staff)
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svarinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Villa Marjela. The staff were fantastic - they provided us with a juice on arrival (it was very hot outside), and stored our bags for us as we arrived at 10am in the morning. They offered us something to eat and were thoroughly helpful. The hotel is based in a residential area, but is only about a 10-15 min walk to the main drag and there is a supermarket right next to the hotel which is handy. The room was modern, clean and had the best air-con system ever! It was far superior than a more-expensive hotel we had stayed at in Split previously. We would definately recommend this hotel and it is great value for money.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, air-con
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.5 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#22 of 55 in Split
218 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Zagreb
#46 of 55 in Split
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#32 of 55 in Split
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 55 in Split
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#20 of 55 in Split
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marjela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marjela

Property: Villa Marjela
Address: Jobova 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marjela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marjela is a family run hotel near the centre of Split. Its air-conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi and cable TV. All rooms have a private bathroom. Some rooms have a balcony, and there is a free parking space for each room.A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room. The front desk is open 24 hours a day.The villa is just a short walk from the Diocletian’s Palace situated near Marjan hill, wich is good for any type of recreation, and near city stadium „Poljud“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Marjela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marjela Hotel Split
Marjela Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing