We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“clean and good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marjela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marjela
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Split
NYC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“clean and good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, we got free wifi in the lobby, the breakfast was ok. the hotel is about a 10 min walk to the center, which isn't bad. i would've stayed somewhere else if i found other hotels with decent reviews closer to the center that were not too expensive. as someone else mentioned, the beds were a negative. we got a room with 2 single beds pushed together instead of 1 big bed - this was a little uncomfortable. the location and cleanliness were the best things of the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatChica088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
4
36
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is in what we classified as a questionable area, we did not feel safe walking around it at night, so some nights we would have to catch a taxi home and that is 100 kuna. The rooms were average but were clean, the manager was fantastic, more than happy to help. Next time I would choose a hotel closer and in a safer area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This small hotel is good place if you don't want to spend to much money for accommodation. Location is bit out of city center, you will need at least 10 minute walk to the city's Riva promenade and tourist attractions. Rooms are big and very well maintained. Staff was very helpful and nice. Hotel is surrounded with apartment buildings so it is very hard to notice it until you are in front of it. Would recommend this hotel for short stay if you get good rate. Hotel have private parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasa608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We only stayed at villa marjella for only one night, and for that it was enough. While we had stayed in three and two star hotels in Europe. This was one of the worst. When we arrived the staff were very helpful and kindly took us to the room.

As a couple we took the twin room. However what we got was two single beds pushed together, they didn't even have double sheets. It was two singles with the single sets of linen. Very romantic and loving as you could imagine.

The bathroom was an alright size but when we had a shower after 5 minutes the water ran out, this was at 8am. The hotel had good wifi reception and we didn't have breakfast so we can't comment on that. The location is the best part of this hotel but I struggle to find any others.
Our room was quite small only could fit the double bed and barely our suitcases.
Would I recommend this hotel to anyone, probably not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This month, while travelling throughout Croatia, we stayed at the Villa Marjela in Split. We were booked in 3 star hotels throughout Croatia and were satisfied with all of them except for this hotel. When we drove into the area in front of the hotel we were greeted with trash, weeds, and broken glass strewn around the area. After being greeted in a dismal lobby, we went to our room and found no towels and no glasses. We were told that it was because it was the weekend and we could expect towels in 24 hours!! We were never given a clear answer about the lack of glasses. There was a television in the room which had no channels available (not even Croatian channels.) There was nowhere to put luggage, and we had to put everything on the floor and live out of the suitcase for 2 days. After having lovely breakfast buffets in all of our hotels in Croatia, with some of the best coffee we have ever had, we found instant coffee, some unsavory bread and sugar cereal with bananas for breakfast. We ran to the closest coffee bar for our coffee. Upon returning to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing in wonderful Split, we had to walk the 15 minutes from old town through a very unattractive part of town and as the lot in front of the hotel has no lights and broken steps, we did not feel very safe entering the premises. Fortunately the lovely town of Split provided great days, but returning to the hotel in the evening spoiled our stay in many ways.

Room Tip: i only saw our room and our friend's room #7 and #10, and i would not recommend either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudithElizabeth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel location is app. 10 min walk from city centre. In the area had some construction works, but that doesn't disturb. Hotel itself is clean and comfort, some rooms are quite small, but if you get bigger room, you get same time superior accomodation. Aircondition works well in every room. Stuff is very friendly and helpfull, they had allways a litlle smile in their face. The breakfast was OK.
I would say, this is worth of money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kari I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooglede, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night and we came by car. With a good road description you will manage to find it. The rooms are rather small but clean and are equipped with private bathroom, aircon and fridge. The Wifi also did not work. The staff however is very friendly and helpful, especially when it came to explaining the best way to the port and Diocletian palace. Breakfast was OK. In the evening (instead of staying in the room), we went to the beach nearby, about a 10 minute walk and enjoyed a drink and the sunset on the pier. It was also very easy that we could park the car next to the hotel for free. Never mind the appartment blocks, you know you stay in a city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay_kuylle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.6 mi away
Sweet Dreams Accommodations & Hostel
0.5 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#14 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#22 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Consul
Hotel Consul
#34 of 56 in Split
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartmani Johnny
Apartmani Johnny
#32 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marjela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marjela

Property: Villa Marjela
Address: Jobova 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marjela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marjela is a family run hotel near the centre of Split. Its air-conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi and cable TV. All rooms have a private bathroom. Some rooms have a balcony, and there is a free parking space for each room.A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room. The front desk is open 24 hours a day.The villa is just a short walk from the Diocletian’s Palace situated near Marjan hill, wich is good for any type of recreation, and near city stadium „Poljud“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Marjela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marjela Hotel Split
Marjela Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing