We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap room, poor place”
Review of Villa Marjela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Marjela
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Split
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We only stayed at villa marjella for only one night, and for that it was enough. While we had stayed in three and two star hotels in Europe. This was one of the worst. When we arrived the staff were very helpful and kindly took us to the room.

As a couple we took the twin room. However what we got was two single beds pushed together, they didn't even have double sheets. It was two singles with the single sets of linen. Very romantic and loving as you could imagine.

The bathroom was an alright size but when we had a shower after 5 minutes the water ran out, this was at 8am. The hotel had good wifi reception and we didn't have breakfast so we can't comment on that. The location is the best part of this hotel but I struggle to find any others.
Our room was quite small only could fit the double bed and barely our suitcases.
Would I recommend this hotel to anyone, probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

This month, while travelling throughout Croatia, we stayed at the Villa Marjela in Split. We were booked in 3 star hotels throughout Croatia and were satisfied with all of them except for this hotel. When we drove into the area in front of the hotel we were greeted with trash, weeds, and broken glass strewn around the area. After being greeted in a dismal lobby, we went to our room and found no towels and no glasses. We were told that it was because it was the weekend and we could expect towels in 24 hours!! We were never given a clear answer about the lack of glasses. There was a television in the room which had no channels available (not even Croatian channels.) There was nowhere to put luggage, and we had to put everything on the floor and live out of the suitcase for 2 days. After having lovely breakfast buffets in all of our hotels in Croatia, with some of the best coffee we have ever had, we found instant coffee, some unsavory bread and sugar cereal with bananas for breakfast. We ran to the closest coffee bar for our coffee. Upon returning to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing in wonderful Split, we had to walk the 15 minutes from old town through a very unattractive part of town and as the lot in front of the hotel has no lights and broken steps, we did not feel very safe entering the premises. Fortunately the lovely town of Split provided great days, but returning to the hotel in the evening spoiled our stay in many ways.

Room Tip: i only saw our room and our friend's room #7 and #10, and i would not recommend either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudithElizabeth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hotel location is app. 10 min walk from city centre. In the area had some construction works, but that doesn't disturb. Hotel itself is clean and comfort, some rooms are quite small, but if you get bigger room, you get same time superior accomodation. Aircondition works well in every room. Stuff is very friendly and helpfull, they had allways a litlle smile in their face. The breakfast was OK.
I would say, this is worth of money.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Kari I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night and we came by car. With a good road description you will manage to find it. The rooms are rather small but clean and are equipped with private bathroom, aircon and fridge. The Wifi also did not work. The staff however is very friendly and helpful, especially when it came to explaining the best way to the port and Diocletian palace. Breakfast was OK. In the evening (instead of staying in the room), we went to the beach nearby, about a 10 minute walk and enjoyed a drink and the sunset on the pier. It was also very easy that we could park the car next to the hotel for free. Never mind the appartment blocks, you know you stay in a city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay_kuylle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had no luck here. Room was tiny and uncomfortable; slept poorly. No wi-fi in the room (lobby only). The ultimate failure was the Split map they gave us. It showed this hotel in the WRONG location. Had a helluva time finding our way back, at night, on foot.

We chose it because it had parking and was close to the old city. The car park was dirt and muddy, but it was close to the old port (the only reason to visit Split IMHO). The breakfast buffet wasn't bad.

I felt we paid way too much, and during low season also (May).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We chose to stay in this hotel as on the map it looked to be convenient to the historic area of Split, had decent reviews, and was about half the price of other Split hotels.
The hotel was extremely hard to find, being located in the middle of what we would consider a housing project, complete wiuth grafitti, etc. There were no building numbers that made sense, and not sign from the residential street, to the driveway, which led over a hill to the hotel. We finally found the hotel and decided to stay.
The hotel was very small, but clean. The room had a flat screen tv with a few US shows playing. The AC worked well, however their was nothing to drink or eat at the hotel. The breakfast was very sparse. The clerk explained that the area may look shady, but that was what was left from the communist era, and was very safe. We walked to the historic area (about 10 minutes away). We had no issues with the neighborhood, other than its appearance. I enjoyed Split's Riva and it's historic sites.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed in the Villa Marjela for one night last weekend and can recommend it to anyone who is looking for value for money outside of the tourist trail. The hotel is situated in a residential area near the Archaeological Museum, a slightly up-hill ten-minute walk to the north-west from the Riva and Old City. When I arrived, I took the Croation Airlines bus to Obala Lazareta near the Riva and harbour (30 KN) and from the bus station behind the tourist office the no. 17 bus to Karamanova Street (10 KN). From there it is only 150 meters to the hotel, whose entrance is from the parking lot off Jobova street. The hotel is very close to the Archaelogical Museum, which is well worth a visit (third largest in Europe after Rome and Athens). The receptionist at the hotel was extremely friendly and even offered me coffee and breakfast while waiting 10 minutes until my room was ready. The location of the hotel amongst high-rise apartment buildings and a large school allows one to see other parts of Split off the beaten tourist-trail. The area itself and the walk there felt entirely safe. The room was spare but clean and rather large, and the flat-screen TV had a good selection of international channels. Shampoo was provided in the bathroom. The breakfast was good too, including wholewheat bread, pastries, yoghurt and various kinds of cereals, cheese and cold cuts, juice and fruit. My only point of criticism is the Nescafe rather than freshly brewed coffee on the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cata33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#24 of 58 in Split
226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Vice
Hotel Villa Vice
#30 of 58 in Split
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#49 of 58 in Split
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#35 of 58 in Split
47 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Zagreb
#48 of 58 in Split
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marjela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marjela

Address: Jobova 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Split
Price Range: $44 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marjela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marjela is a family run hotel near the centre of Split. Its air-conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi and cable TV. All rooms have a private bathroom. Some rooms have a balcony, and there is a free parking space for each room.A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room. The front desk is open 24 hours a day.The villa is just a short walk from the Diocletian’s Palace situated near Marjan hill, wich is good for any type of recreation, and near city stadium „Poljud“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Marjela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marjela Hotel Split
Marjela Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing