We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Split
Split
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked trough Gala Hotels website a 4 stars hotel. When we arrived at Best Western the room was in the external of the hotel, no lift, no air condition. When we complain about it, the receptionist`s answer was " it´s not muy bussines". We book a 4 star hotel and spent the stay in a guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Tatiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    70
    58
    16
    17
See reviews for
24
74
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I chose this hotel knowing Best Western standards but it was only 2 star carpets smell of smoke and dark red paint on interior is 1970's. The location is too far from the water front - we used the bus but the front desk could not explain which buses to catch, its a matter of watch where they go and see that numbered bus down at main market / prominarde area. The hotel wifi has a password but the girls at booking in time said its automaic connect. Two hours later after many tries we bought both our one tablet/one ipad down and the manager did the connection using a password and login, no troubles after that.We had first floor room easy ok up stairs with cases and returns from downtown good size clean and bar fridge towels etc. I appreciated the lock up auto door safe parking behind able to load cases before departure. Breakfasts ok evening dinner average staff try hard but the cook/kitchen must be under resourced. Buses do stop here so we avoided their mealtime, late breakfast best bus gone by 8.30am.Only stay if you want 2 star. We travel as couple and are fit 65yr old Australians self drive ourselves with GPS Italy, Croatia & Corfu May June 2013. We have done 12 years self drive holidays all over european countries and this hotel is not recommend. Split is only a one day stop nothing to do other than the market great for clothes & hats &fruit & veg & water front for drinks & meals. Best meals are a way down the far end at Trumbiceva obala on the "S" bend or inside the old town walls in the square.

Room Tip: The front part of the hotel on first floor and ask for a back room its quiet and no view but thats g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I'll begin by saying that I consider myself to be well travelled. I've stayed in various levels of accommodation around the world. When I book a 3 star hotel, I'm not expecting the finest service however I do expect to be able to sleep!
I have just spent 2 sleepless nights at this hotel located on a floor that is at ground level with the street. Even with ear plugs we can not block out the sound of the constant cars & motorbikes. I have stayed in New York & it was quieter than this! When we asked the reception desk to change rooms they neither cared nor could accommodate our request as the hotel was fully booked.

This is certainly not Best Western standard & now I'll reconsider the brand of hotels for future hotel reservations! People that own or manage these hotels should actually stay on the ground floor rooms to see what it's like for a guest or invest in double glazed, sound proof glass!

In addition hotel is about a 20 min walk from the old city & even further from the beaches which.on the heat of summer is not a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel was about 20 minutes by walk out of the center. If you are seeking a hotel in the middle of everything you should go somewhere else.Kindly note there are two buildings with two different rate for the rooms. I chose the higher price. The room and bathroom were quite big. TV had many different Channels (One of the best variety during my trip in Croatia). There was a free internet connection in the room. The breakfast was limited and the place was small comparing to the number of guests. Toally saying,It was a very ordinary hotel good just for stop-over not for a long time.

Room Tip: If you pay on cash, they will give you 10% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked the dependance room and did not understand prior to the trip what type of standard the room was, It turned out that the dependance room was at "Art Hotel"; a hotel that Best Western does not approve to have in their portfolio because of the standard. "Art Hotel" is located in a building behid Best Western, and we used the same reception and breakfast area.

Room:
The room was nice and clean. We had everything we needed but a minibar/minifridge.

Location:
Not a very good location due to lack of things to do in immediate walking distance. The neighborhood is rather shabby. Takes you 10-15 minutes to walk to the Old city and 25 minutes to walk to the closest beach.

Restaurant:
We had pasta bolognese which was poorly heated up. The hot part of the food tasted ok. Breakfast was good, and friendly staff.

Service:
Nice and friendly staff.
They charge 100 kuna for using the sauna, even for staying guests!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svinsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed just one night, after late ferry ride from Vis. Very clean rooms, good A/C, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds. Breakfast in the morning was really good - good variety of foods (fruit, meat, cereal, croissants and nutella (!), yogurt, eggs). Room was quiet. Shower was excellent (great water pressure). Wifi was great.

The staff was great. Helped me print out something and fax it back to the USA (at no charge, but I gave them a tip when we checked out).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The40YearOldDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel while attending a conference.This is a good town hotel with a perfect location: it's close to the old town, good restaurants and the sights. The shopping mall is also very near. Although the hotel is located in the town, the beach is only half-an-hour walk. The room was big and clean, but no balcony. Wireless connection is good and free. Do not expect too much for breakfast, just the usual things, and the restaurant is very small and very crowded. All in all, not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyerka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#22 of 55 in Split
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#25 of 55 in Split
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#42 of 55 in Split
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Consul
Hotel Consul
#40 of 55 in Split
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#50 of 55 in Split
170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#32 of 55 in Split
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: Ulica Slobode 41, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Split
#23 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing