We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice in Split”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Split
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This is a "Best Western" chain hotel....there's no discernable reason why it's named "Art Hotel", unless the owners are trying to make it sound classy and to conceal the fact that it's a soulless western chain joint. If you want a predictable stay without anything else, this hotel is fine. It's got dated "moderne" styling and internet access that sometimes works. But it's in a lousy, unattractive, but safe, part of town. My room looked out over a storage lot and it's obvious that housekeeping has been ignoring the huge stain on the light tan carpet that looked like someone dumped a cup of coffee on the floor years ago. But, if you want a quiet stay just overnight and you don't care about the neighborhood, view, or or that you have to walk 25 minutes from the Ferry/Bus station, this hotel will work for you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidavouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2010

Fantastic air conditioning and a brilliant bed. The shower was fantastic
The hotel was situated a little way out of the center but only a 20min walk
The brekfast was the usual contiental meat/cheese and cereal buffet
Probably best suited to business

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig0austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The hotel was brilliant, staff - great, clean, quiet - enough for me!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_couple069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This was a terrible hotel - the only saving grace for the hotel was that there was free wifi in the rooms. Firstly, when you look at the hotel online, I thought I was booking into a four star hotel but when it books you, you get put into the 3 star dependancy across the car park. Considering they knew that we had booked two nights for the last of our honeymoon before heading back to England, they gave us the smallest room in the dependancy. When we arrived, the desk clerk was rude and short and more interested in chatting up the female desk clerk than helping us find a route into town. The first night we stayed our room wasn't cleaned. Absolutely awful hotel with rude and inconsiderate staff - I haven't a clue how they managed to achieve 4 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I had an overnight in Split and decided to stay here based on other TripAdvisor reviews. It really was value for my money. The room was large, the bathroom spacious and the location was about a 10 minute walk from the old town. The breakfast was tasty and the staff were helpful. I'd definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
Thank salernch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

A group of 15 people stayed 3 nights at Art Hotel Split in june 2010. It was almost fully booked when we made the reservation, so we got rooms in the annex building next to the hotel. The annex is 3 stars, and the hotel is 4 stars.

The rooms: double bed. A little flat screen TV. Free WIFI-internet (yay!). Clean. Small bathroom. . Good A/C. Noise from the street outside.

When I arrived at my room the made wasn't done yet, it took about 3 minutes before I figured it out. They called from the reception and apologized. I went outside and 15 minutes later it was ready.

Walking distance to downtown Split.

At check-out they wanted us to pay, even though we had a lot of e-mail communication and we had prepaided for the entire stay. Luckily I had my documentation in order. Should't be necessary!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gryand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

we travel by motorcycle and change destination every day. we look for hotels that are convenient as a location and good and clean enough for a good night sleep. Our choices are normally average. this is a good average hotel. Need car to go to old town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biker1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#21 of 56 in Split
552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#34 of 56 in Split
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#50 of 56 in Split
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#25 of 56 in Split
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#43 of 56 in Split
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Consul
Hotel Consul
#40 of 56 in Split
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Address: Ulica Slobode 41, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Split
#22 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range: $116 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing