We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splurge but well worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vestibul Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A splurge but well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights - in the vestibule. We were greeted from outside by the smile and humor of Drago, who was running the front desk at the time. His very welcoming introduction set the tone for the rest of our stay. The hotel decor was luxurious, modern and classy. The staff's service (from check-in... to coffee in the morning... to a drink in the evening... to dinner reservations... to an inquiry on a boat charter... to assistance with our bags upon check-out) was top notch - five star service. "Apartment rooms" are available all over town for less money, but the experience we enjoyed at Hotel Vestibul Palace was unforgettable

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    81
    24
    6
    0
See reviews for
53
222
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The staff really makes it for this hotel (apart from the clean & modern fittings and central location in the palace). They are happy, friendly and welcoming. We booked a room in the annex section which is a short walk from the reception and the staff helped us with the luggage. They did some introduction to the palace and told us where the good restaurants were on the way to our room. Breakfast was lovely & included locally made cheese & ham doughnuts. Would recommend this hotel anytime!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneCess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Following our journey from Zagreb, we stayed only one night in this hotel. However, it is part of the ancient palace of a former Roman Emperor and it has been absorbed into the fabric of the building in a splendid manner. It is quite new and we found the service and facilities of the hotel to be very good. Unfortunately, there is no elevator in the building, so it is necessary to walk up a couple of flights of stairs to the room which is a really good about four star plus standard. The staff here were excellent and always helpful with luggage and suggestions.
We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms would be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Villa Dobric, the annex of the Vestibul Palace (which was full) 3 nights. The annex is conveniently located in the old section of Split, about a 10 minute walk through passageways to the Diocletian Palace, the centerpiece of Split. Our two story room, with the bedroom up a steep almost ladder type staircase was very comfortable., though having the bathroom on the lower level is a bit precarious at night. The staff made the Villa Dobric most appealing. The continental breakfasts in a picturesque terrace were very good. Since there is no vehicle traffic in the older part of Split, you need to manage your luggage to the hotel from the port or bus station (we did not have a functioning cell phone to call for assistance), though they kindly helped us on our return to the port. Sinc e this is a small 4 room hotel on an appealing but tiny passageway, it is relatively unknown by locals and locating its exact location was a challenge - get good directions before leaving!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestibul_Management, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Guest, we are very happy you liked our Villa Dobric and that you were satisfied with the service you provided.
I would like you to contact me and let me know what aspect of your stay/service/accomodation/ did not meet your expectations, and that it resulted with a 3-dot rating.
I hope that we will stay in good memory as a part of your holiday in Croatia!

Hope to hear back from you!
Regards
Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
294 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We heartedly confirm all the stellar reviews for this magnificent boutique hotel located inside Diocletian's Palace in Split. Only 6-7 rooms here so reserve early! The rooms are nicely appointed with travertine marble bath, powerful A/C and one of the most comfortable beds in recent memory. Breakfast on the ground-level terrace makes you feel like royalty! Since the hotel is located inside the labyrinth of alleys and passageways of this ancient structure, it can be somewhat challenging to find at first. But keep at it ... you're almost there! The front desk staff were a marvel, arranging private tours for us and recommending an excellent vegetarian restaurant just outside the walls of the palace. On the upper end of our price range (and then some!) but well worth the experience. Go for it!!!! :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for such wonderfull words about us! We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We spent one night at the Vestibule hotel in SPlit. the hotel is inside the Donatian palace so you cannot reach it by car, but they arranged everyhing to take our car in front of the palace , we just had to call when we arrived and put it in the parking they have, someone was waiting for us so easy. The day after we had to take a ferry to Hvar island, not only did they took our car to the ferry queu but they also went to exchange our voucher for tickets and we had nothing to do but to go there 20 minutes before the departure of the boat and have our car in the right line right place. Those who have done this sort of ferry/car departures know how boring it is to wait for a very long time in the car queu. This is first class service. Adorable people, nice brekfeast, ideally located, modern rooms (the only problem is the bath tub that is a bit high and wide so difficult to get inside ). we highly recommend it, you wont be desappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
The Hotel Vestibul Palace staff thanks you for these thoughts and we are happy that you wish to share your experience with the rest of the world! We hope everyone else will enjoy it as much as you did! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

To stay in a 2,000 year old building that has been so exquisitely adapted for a new use is quite an experience for me as an architect. This 11 room hotel is excellent in every way, location, staff, service, comfort and appearance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.1 mi away
Marmont Hotel Heritage
Marmont Hotel Heritage
#10 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vestibul Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vestibul Palace

Property: Hotel Vestibul Palace
Address: Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Split
#5 Romantic Hotel in Split
#6 Business Hotel in Split
#8 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vestibul Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury boutique hotel in the heart of 1700 year old Diocletian's palace. 11 Unique rooms will give you a one of a kind experience of sleeping in the emperor's chambers! City Center, City Hotel, Luxury Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Luxury Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vestibul Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vestibul Palace Hotel
Vestibul Palace Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing