We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to a Roman Emperor's Standards, but Worth Considering”
Review of Villa Ana

Villa Ana
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Ana
Ranked #52 of 488 Specialty Lodging in Split
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not up to a Roman Emperor's Standards, but Worth Considering”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A one night stay's at an accommodation doesn't always lend itself to a fair, accurate assessment, especially if an early departure causes the traveler to take a pass on breakfast.  That said, an incomplete assessment is better than none at all, and what this traveler experienced at the Split located Villa Ana was generally favorable.

First and foremost, Villa Ana is situated an easy five-minute walk from Split's most important touristic attraction, Diocletian's Palace.  The Palace also happens to be dramatically situated next to the Riva, Split's wildly popular seaside promenade.  Admittedly, the Ana itself isn't situated in a highly desirable place (the hotel's tidy exterior clashes with its gritty, forgettable surroundings), but the neighborhood seems safe enough and its proxmity to Split's tourist central is a real plus.

We were given room number one at the Ana.  The room featured a rather uncomfortabke though large double bed, an uneven lighting scheme (one corner was noticeably dim), and several windows yet none with views worth noting.  Still, there was a mini bar, a large TV (BBC, thank you), and much needed air conditioning.  The bathroom was modrn and bright, with nice, attractive fixtures, and an up to date shower installation.  In short, the bathroom was the best feature of our room.

We were quite pleased with the service at Villa Ana. Upon arrival, a friendly gentleman provided us with help concerning a taxi ride to the airport, offered us a discounted price due to our cash payment (about $130 US), and he cheerfully responsed to a few other questions concerning sightseeing and our early check out.  The service, all told, was accurate and upbeat.   

As previously noted, we did not take breakfast at Villa Ana, but should we return to Split (and that sounds like an appealing option), we would certainly consider returning to Villa Ana.  It appears to provide serviceable lodging, professional service, all at a reasonable price.  The traveler to Split would do well to consider Villa Ana.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Villa Ana is a fine small inn (5 rooms) in an excellent location just five minutes away from the the Riva, bus station and old city. The beds were excellent, a refrigerator was provided and there was plenty of space to unpack and be comfortable. The breakfast was fairly paltry, particularly on the morning when we came down toward the end of the breakfast hours. As items, such as juice or milk, were emptied they were not replaced and the woman serving breakfast was obviously cleaning rooms at the same time and so only sporadically available to ask for more coffee or milk. The front desk was also staffed only occasionally, sometimes with the fellow who spoke excellent English and was very helpful and sometimes with a woman who spoke no English. Our room was two flights of stairs up, but they were really not difficult to climb. All in all, it is a fine choice for a stay in Split.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This place is awesome! Its a quick 5-10 minute walk to the old city, the Riva, train stations, bus station, ferries, restaurants, the beach! Its modern, clean, wonderfully priced, very comfortable and quiet. When we go back to Split, this is where we're staying.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was travelling with a friend on holiday and were very pleased with Villa Ana. It is a short walk to the old town, Roman ruins, ferries and bus station. Very clean, convenient, and comfortable. Water pressure/temperature in the shower was fine. We had a small balcony facing the street and had very little noise but were travelling during the off season. We were offered a slight discount for paying in cash. The taxi driver had some difficulty locating it, so consider printing a map or getting directions before you go. Breakfast was offered from 7-10 am and included eggs, toast, cereal, coffee/tea.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Villa Ana is small with only 5 rooms. We had 2 rooms on the top floor.( rooms 4&5) 2 flights up, no elevator. They were both very large with hardwood floors, armoires, minibar fridges, desks, tv and reasonable size bathroom with shower.Hot water was instant, and water pressure was excellent. Very comfortable beds and good pillows. Good size windows with lots of light. The room also had aircon but we opted to sleep with the windows open .The lobby and general public space decor is art deco-ish and very well done with some very good paintings. Breakfast is served in a basement room but it felt airy because of the design open to the lobby. Free wifi worked well in the breakfast room. Breakfast was assorted meat, cheese, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, yogurt, cereal and toast (self toasted), bread and buns. The location is very convenient to Diocletians Palace.. about a 5 minute walk to the green market just outside the gates. There is also parking right in front. The only issue is the address.. if you're using a gps to locate Villa Ana it won't locate the street address.We got within 1 block, parked and walked to find the actual location.
Staff was very helpful and the rooms were spotless. Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the back of the lobby desk on the main floor..the room on the second floor at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived by bus from Zadar and the hotel was only a short distance from the bus/train stations. It’s also convenient to the Diocletian’s Palace/Old Town complex. We had room 2, which is on the second floor at the front of the hotel. Very spacious room with a European (split) double bed, a small refrigerator, a small couch and lots of closet space. Spotlessly clean and everything in good working order. Free wifi is available. Breakfast was good with the usual selection of bread, yogurt, cereal, etc., plus cooked sausages, bacon and eggs. I noticed that another reviewer complained of street noise. It was quite warm while we were there so we had the windows closed most of the time while using the air conditioning, so it was not a problem for us. I think it would only be a problem if you opened the windows. There is a restaurant next to it that is OK but most restaurants are in the old town on the opposite side of Diocletian’s Palace, about a 10 to 15 minute walk away. Try the restaurant Galija—we ate there and the food was excellent (see my review). The hotel is recommended in several guidebooks and the price of the rooms apparently reflects it’s popularity. We did get a 10% discount by paying cash.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great; I suspect the other rooms are more ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown,NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This small B+B is located 5-7 min from the old town. As noted in other comments, hard to find but tucked in behind the main road. We were given room no 1 on the first floor and you get the full wave of doers from the kitchen at 0600 including the noise from other travelers . The beds are soft. The room is very basic and gives you a feeling of a dorm, not a cozy BB. I guess that the location beats it all so if you are looking for a place just to sleep and are not picky, it is ok, but not more than that. The place offers 10% off for cash and do honor that. All in all $165 for the room is not cheap but so is everything else in this country not a great value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Diana
Hotel Villa Diana
#15 of 55 in Split
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
BASE Rooms
BASE Rooms
#43 of 186 in Split
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Simoni Apartments
Villa Simoni Apartments
#16 of 488 in Split
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Split Oasis Apartments
Split Oasis Apartments
#24 of 488 in Split
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Split
Hostel Split
#56 of 488 in Split
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ana

Property: Villa Ana
Address: Vrh Luchac 16, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 488 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ana Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing