We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel but not particularly cheap”
Review of Villa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Ana
Ranked #44 of 504 Specialty Lodging in Split
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived by bus from Zadar and the hotel was only a short distance from the bus/train stations. It’s also convenient to the Diocletian’s Palace/Old Town complex. We had room 2, which is on the second floor at the front of the hotel. Very spacious room with a European (split) double bed, a small refrigerator, a small couch and lots of closet space. Spotlessly clean and everything in good working order. Free wifi is available. Breakfast was good with the usual selection of bread, yogurt, cereal, etc., plus cooked sausages, bacon and eggs. I noticed that another reviewer complained of street noise. It was quite warm while we were there so we had the windows closed most of the time while using the air conditioning, so it was not a problem for us. I think it would only be a problem if you opened the windows. There is a restaurant next to it that is OK but most restaurants are in the old town on the opposite side of Diocletian’s Palace, about a 10 to 15 minute walk away. Try the restaurant Galija—we ate there and the food was excellent (see my review). The hotel is recommended in several guidebooks and the price of the rooms apparently reflects it’s popularity. We did get a 10% discount by paying cash.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great; I suspect the other rooms are more ordinary.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Villa Ana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

This small B+B is located 5-7 min from the old town. As noted in other comments, hard to find but tucked in behind the main road. We were given room no 1 on the first floor and you get the full wave of doers from the kitchen at 0600 including the noise from other travelers . The beds are soft. The room is very basic and gives you a feeling of a dorm, not a cozy BB. I guess that the location beats it all so if you are looking for a place just to sleep and are not picky, it is ok, but not more than that. The place offers 10% off for cash and do honor that. All in all $165 for the room is not cheap but so is everything else in this country not a great value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent three nights in this very lovely place. Everything worked for us, Our room was comfortable and cool with an excellent shower; Breakfast was plentiful and available late when we slept in and early when we had to make a bus. (I fell inlove with the biscuit flavoered yoghurt and the freshly scrambled eggs were delicious. A whole different flavor.) The location was perfect for us - aroiund five minutes outside the wall in a clean,quiet little alley. And the bonus - it was only a seven minute walk <8all down hill) to the bus station where we caught a bus to Dubrovnik. Check out the backway down - you cut across the train tracks with the locals and you are there!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bflovector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Look no further for a charming, clean hotel with all the amenities. It is situated 5 to 10 minutes away from the old city and close to the bus, train, and ferry terminal. They provide breakfast, but we has to catch a ferry and did not get to try it. I would highly recommend Villa Ana. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SallyAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Small hotel with the basic amenities. Good location to all the sights.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We spent just one night here in August. Wanted two but they were fully booked. The owner was very helpful and found us an apartment round the corner for our second night, which was great as we were last-minute bookers and everywhere else seemed packed out. He saved our bacon.

Villa Anna was just what we needed - quiet and clean roooms, 10 minutes walk from the water front and the Diocletian Palace, but tucked away in a quiet street. Easy walk from the ferry port too, even with heavy bags. Very glad they had aircon, given the summer heat.

Breakfast was fine - plenty of it and my husband enjoyed the cooked breakfast. All the staff were really friendly and helpful, made you feel very welcome. Definately recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Hotel Ana is located 5 to 10 minutes walking from the Riva/Old City/Diocletian Palace in Split. It is also only 5 to 10 minutes walking distance from the train station, bus terminal, and ports for the ferry boats. You couldn't possible ask for a more centrally located accomodation. In spite of the central location, the room was very quiet and private, which my girlfriend and I certainly appreciated. The room itself was very clean and modern and came equipped with a well stocked refrigerator and ample closet splace. The staff was very polite and helpful in any question or request we had. The bathroom was amazing! The food at the buffet breakfast was okay, a little monotonous but certainly adequate. When we go back to Split, we may shop around for other places to stay that offer a better view, but then how much time are you going to spend in a hotel room looking at the the view, the real view is out there and finding such a conveniently located place that was so quiet and clean certainly offsets the view in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcps7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Diana
Hotel Villa Diana
#16 of 56 in Split
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 56 in Split
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Aspalathos
Apartments Aspalathos
#122 of 504 in Split
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peruzovic Rooms & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Rooms & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Villa Simoni Apartments
Villa Simoni Apartments
#19 of 504 in Split
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ana

Address: Vrh Luchac 16, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 504 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range: $45 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ana Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing