We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing comfort in a first class venue with the best location in Split”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Split
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing comfort in a first class venue with the best location in Split”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I do not know how anyone can complain about this great hotel. Just got back yesterday, I didn't want to leave. Friendly staff, great service, amazing rooms and outstanding location-just few steps from Diocletian palace. My friends all had fantastic rooms, but I had what I thought was a suite.

Room Tip: All friend of mine had deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey-peat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    65
    110
    49
    23
See reviews for
29
115
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. The hotel is downtown in Split, with good adjacent parking. We were greeted from our car on the street by the receptionist, who carried our bags into the lobby. Good service.

Being low season, they must have had many empty room as I was given a huge room which I believe was the honeymoon suite. Just for me.

It was an odd room. It was huge. It had an exercise bike. It had sofas. It had a jacuzzi - in the bedroom. Must be for newly weds. There was a tiny separate room with a toilet and another sink, but the only shower was in the jacuzzi, in the bedroom. It was quite a slippery up and down into the "shower". One glass panel was missing so the beautiful wood floor got wet as I showered - in the bedroom. The drain was blocked too.

The mini bar only had one bottle of wine in it. And egg holders. The room had suspended ceiling tiles and strip lighting like any modern office. Not too cosy. The styling was old.

The hotel wifi was almost non existent throughout the hotel but on the 3rd floor I managed to find an external fast, open connection. A colleague on the 2nd floor only found wifi by sitting next to reception.

Breakfast was not self service, being low season. We were brought bread, yoghurt, ham, cheese etc at our table. It sort of worked.

Friendly staff, good location, but somehow the hotel just missed the mark as a four star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nigelhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We arrived from the UK & were promptly met at the airport by taxi and taken to the hotel. At reception the receptionist said you are booked in for five nights. Good we thought, but then she said the hotel is full we have done you a favour & got you into a local hotel. We viewed the local hotel it was new and clean but with no dining room or any other facilities it was basic and when you have just been told by the receptionist that you have two choices sleep on the street or go to the other hotel. The booking had been made months before so we were shocked. We said we would want compensation and would report to our tour rep.
Everything changed a room suddenly by magic became available. It was not wonderful but better than the street. The television could only get one English language programme beamed in from Russia and we could not get the fancy shower to work and the mini bar was empty. Breakfast was O.K. but the hotel was primarily occupied by coachloads of Americans who arrived late afternoon and left early morning.
Location is excellent and for that alone it was probably worth staying there though 5 nights was too long.
Our tour organiser organised a swift refund from the hotel who had written to apologise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank td2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Budapest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am sorry to share that my experience with this hotel was unfortunately not positive, in spite of the kind and proactive waiters and personnel that tried to solve the organisational problems we faced - even if beyond their tasks. Thanks to them all.
The reason is that the hotel seems mostly specialised in organised trips for large groups of vacationers, while we had to work for some conferences organised in the hotel, i.e. we had to spend long time queuing for a coffee at breakfast and waiting for food refurbishing, in addition to having no privacy or silence, for having no reserved spaces.
Compared to the price paid, the hotel is not really the best choice for individual business trip:e.g. rooms are quite outdated, not really clean, noise from the car traffic, poor wi-fi connection, elevator not working (maybe temporarily?) and no room service (you cannot even phone up the front desk for a coffee - there is no number in the room).

Room Tip: Problems with Wifi on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCalcina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wasn't expecting much after reading some reviews and our prior hotel stay in Montenegro, but this hotel is actually quite nice. Was here 2 nights with a group. The rooms are very clean, a very nice size and nicely appointed, including a good sized bathroom and Jacuzzi shower.

The location can't be beat - it's walking distance to the downtown waterfront/Diocletian's Palace area.

Great wifi reception in the rooms was also an unexpected addition to our stay here.

Breakfast was OK - nothing special and offerings a little meager as compared to somewhere like Germany.

No complaints and would be happy to recommend for stay in Split.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikesluckywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay here. The bed was a bit worn along the edges and the metal was sticking through the fabric so that wasnt great but it was still comfortable in the middle.
It was very convenient to get to the waterfront from here which was really super. Hectically expensive wine that wasnt even nice!! Cold shower in the morning which was not great. But this could just be a silly adjustment that we didnt know about!
Very safe area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent one night here as part of a bus tour. Older hotel but every worked and it was clean. Good location. Easy to walk into the old town and to the waterfront. Lovely room, lots of space. OK breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBabyBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Split
3.1 mi away
Hotel President Solin
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#24 of 55 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#33 of 55 in Split
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#49 of 55 in Split
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#22 of 55 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#46 of 55 in Split
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Starcheviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing