We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notihing special”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Split
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel President in Split is on very good location, in city centre. It's not 4 star hotel. Everything in Hotel is old but it's clean. Breakfast is nothing specail and could be better. Service is fine and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 311 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We liked the room & the cleanliness, but having to eat the unpleasant breakfast output left a bad taste about the place. Just too old and outdated to repeat a visit here. Location is fairly close to the walking street towards the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank opete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

i was unpleasantly surprised by the service and value of the hotel.After having a reservation a month ago with a written confirmation for a room in thos hotel,they met me offering me a transfer for the second night to a hotel 3-4 km away from the center.it was someting which i didnt accept unless it is a hotel accross the street.Breakfast was ok,but hotel was crowed(full with chineese who turned to be very noisy visitors) and you have to get in line for a cup of coffee.It wasnt worthy to pay so much money for poor service and deffinetely not 4 star cleaness.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

TG stayed only one night, towels very course, bathroom mini size, not anything an American would
choose. Very thread bare and nosiy, Only good thing was could walk to tour the Palace.
In summary, hotel very old in need of a renovation and the towels must be replaced, pronto.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed one night. Staff polite. Hotel very old fashioned but clean . Dark wooden furniture, large comfortable bed. Breakfast ok not brilliant, buffet style. Close walking distance to old town and sights and the port for travel to islands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

AC will not allow temp change, once shut down, you need to get the front desk to turn it on again. But you cannot phone the front desk apparently, you need to head downstairs because the elevator is on private for luggage hauling. Shower does not drain so we have been sent to shower in another room. TV is 20 years old and very poor quality. Hardwood floors and the carpet is filthy. Hole in the bathroom door. Breakfast buffet included but ran out of eggs and meat. Windows could be open or shut, it is just as noisy here on floor two. Some travel mates have had a nice room at this hotel, we are on the same tour with Globus but I would never choose this hotel if I had the option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I wish I could offer more details. We arrived late in the afternoon, took a three-hour or so tour of Diocletian's Palace, and left the next day. The beds were very comfortable, the location was excellent also. We were only a 15-minute walk from Diocletian's Palace and the various restaurants in that area.

When we entered the room, there were a couple of minor problems, but hotel personnel took care of them immediately--so that is a plus. The safe wouldn't open and a trash can was broken. Again, these were corrected so quickly that I would suggest that the efficiency and courtesy of the staff was wonderful. One minor annoyance was that one of the maid's carts (service trolleys) was left in the corridor across from our room from the time we arrived to the time we left (next day) and although that was nothing more than an annoyance, it did suggest a bit of a laissez-faire attitude on the part of the management.

Hotel was comfortable for one night, but had I stayed longer, I would have been unhappy. Also, typical of many European hotels, there was only one luggage stand, and that is unacceptable in a small, double room.

Restaurant (only had breakfast in the hotel) was good. Frankly, with rare exceptions, at hotels in Europe's major cities and tourist attractions, breakfasts are always good.

Room Tip: We were not there long enough to come up with any tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tedbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#32 of 58 in Split
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel 19
Heritage Hotel 19
#23 of 58 in Split
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#26 of 58 in Split
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Heritage Hotel
Jupiter Heritage Hotel
#29 of 58 in Split
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmont Hotel Heritage
Marmont Hotel Heritage
#10 of 58 in Split
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#16 of 58 in Split
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Starcheviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range: $88 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing