We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soft beds?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Split
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Soft beds?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed in a single room as part of a small tour group staying only one night. I've read below about the beds that were too soft. Mine was like sleeping on an ironing board, but I was so tired that I slept well anyway. The air conditioning had a thermostat and worked well. I loved the shower - a hand-held shower head, many jets that it was a little bit hard to make work, but somehow they came on, and also steam which was so efficient I had to open the shower door to get my breath. I really enjoyed that! I don't remember the breakfast, so it couldn't have been bad. My room was small but OK for me as the bed was a double. Had no view except rooftops, but I enjoyed it anyway. An old hotel now and then is part of the charm of traveling, I think. It was all wood-paneled. I had no interface with the staff so I can't comment on them. I liked it for a change from all the shiny-modern, sleek hotels we stayed in elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nibiru888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    92
    42
    22
See reviews for
27
100
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights in May 2013 as part of a tour group. The room was in the old part of the hotel (using front elevator). The lobby was small but nice. Our room initially seemed nice, but then we found the safe did not work due to lack of batteries; the TV was non functional, the shower had many different shower nozzles that didn't work, the bathroom waste can was broken, and the only light for shaving the right side of the face was burnt out and wasn't replaced. Despite promises from the front desk none of the correctible problems was repaired. The hair dryer was not plugged in; it was connected as per photo. Safety hazard?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrangerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The best this hotel has to offer is a proximity to downtown and a place to park (however you have to pay for the parking)
The room are spacious and clean although there is a certain smell in the room and the corridors (moisture)

Breakfast buffet is not up to standard of a 4 star hotel, so there is not a lot to choose from.

Wifi is available.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiksaGopcevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location and price are attractive, but the rooms and furnishing are worn and the carpets are really thread bear. As an economical option it is good, but don't expect too much of the rooms. The included breakfast was good and prepared as we wanted - no buffet lines (a nice touch) and probably the best part of the hotel. Covenient to the walled city with ample on street parking, if you are lucky.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geezers_on_the_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were part of a small group tour so didn’t have a realistic option to check out and find alternative accommodation. As travellers for 30 years on all continents & in hundreds of hotels we rate our room amongst the worst 10% of hotel rooms we have experienced. In so saying we suspect that we got the short straw as the hotel was full [large tour groups had arrived earlier] and the room we were assigned in the front section of the hotel may have been allocated as a last resort. We do know that at least three other rooms were judged unacceptable by various travellers whom we observed visit the reception desk in rapid succession to try for better accommodation. Staff remained positive under pressure but were unable to meet these demands.
Our room: of the four globes in the ceiling light only one worked. Of the three in the bathroom again only one worked. The shower screen needed to be jammed in place as the seals were stuffed and the floor flooded. We made temporary ‘repairs’, undone each morning by the room attendant! The bed & one bedside table just fitted between the two walls, giving only leg-width room between one wall and the bed. Other furniture was in poor condition. Some blinds were broken and sections dangled down. The room safe [at least there was one] didn’t work. After we investigated we found it was missing its batteries. An approach to the front desk resulted in a “Sorry, we don’t have batteries” response. But we were trusted with the master key which we then had to carry around for three days - a minor point but annoying all the same.
And outside the room? Well, some staircases are missing sections of handrail; more blinds are broken and hanging in disrepair. The breakfast room is quite smart and attractive, located in a rear section of the hotel. But the meal was poor: e.g. “I’ll have to go to the basement to get tea bags for you.”; ‘fruit’ comprised a small, almost empty bowl of discoloured sliced apple with a sign saying something like: Guests are forbidden to remove fruit from the dining room [or words to that effect]. The water for hot drinks was tepid and one had to request hot water for tea etc.; and hot foods were just warm or cold, that is if the platters hadn’t been left empty. Get the drift?
The section of the hotel we stayed in requires extensive upgrading. We have subsequently checked the hotel’s web site. The photos of the rooms provide a very positive image, bright, clean, well furnished. Although the floor plan of one of the categories resembles our room, beware, none of the carefully crafted, selective, professional photos, came close to identifying the shortcomings we experienced. This hotel is definitely not recommended.

Room Tip: Colleagues reported reasonable rooms at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Birene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is suitable especialy for those who are looking for good strating point of exploring Split downtown and visiting some famous heritage locations like Dioklecijanova palača. The famous Splitska riva is five minutes walk from the hotel. When I visit places I always check local food markets - the biggest in Split is 3 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms are relatively small but very nice and clean. Beds are IMHO too soft so the sleeping quality was not the best. I didn't eat at the restorant but breakfast should be more rich for 4-stars hotel. If I'm totaly honest the rating is more like 3/4 but because of the city, heritage and atmosphere I'll rate it with 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsovc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent two nights in in this supposedly 4 Star hotel which was a huge disappointment. The rooms were cramped (we were part of a small group) although clean, amenities almost non-existent, staff generally surly, and the breakfast dreadful (hot water for tea was so tepid that my tea bag wouldn't bleed color!). When we politely asked the staff for hot water, we were told it had been put out hot at 7 (it was only 7:30 when wew asked)! It reminded me of 1970 Soviet Union--gruff and surly staff, or post-wall Eastern Europe. So if you harken for those days, be our guest--but don't be fooled if you want a lovely experience. You won't get it here.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, ask for a room with seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NonnaBegonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Split
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#22 of 56 in Split
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel President Solin
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#19 of 56 in Split
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#47 of 56 in Split
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#32 of 56 in Split
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Starcheviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing