We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, enjoyed it”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Split
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, enjoyed it”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My friend was in charge of making reservations for hotels in our Balkan tour and after seeing reviews on this page I did not know what to expect about this hotel, but it turned out to be a great place to stay, enjoy yourself and spend some time chilling. The hotel is only 2 minutes from the Diocletian's Palace so you do not have to spend some extra money on cabs. Even more, all city amenities and beaches are on walking distance from the hotel.
Service was great, breakfast very good and even though we came for breakfast at 9:55, waiters were helpful waiting for to finish before taking everything away. Very recommendable!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    65
    110
    49
    23
See reviews for
29
115
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here for one night on a tour. The location is good---it's only a few blocks from the Riva and Diocletian's Palace. Upon checking in to my tiny single room, the television was missing. Other tour members had problems with air conditioning, towels, and luggage. All were resolved with the help of my tour guide....but the hotel really seemed unable to cope with a large group. The room, besides being small, was badly in need of refurbishing. The bathroom was tiny and basic, with a small stall shower that leaked. The free internet didn't work in my second floor room, and I had to go down to the unairconditioned lobby for a connection. The breakfast was basic. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room----all the rooms vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

As part of a tour of Croatia, we stayed at this hotel for one night.
It turned out to be quite unpleasant. There were 40 people in our
group and a good number of them had a variety of problems.
First, suitcases were delivered to wrong rooms. Second, a few
people were caught in the elevator which stopped working. Our
shower didn't work properly. The laptop computer for public use
did not work either. Worst of all, there was only ONE staff person
available when we and another group arrived. This staff person
was quite cordial but clearly overwhelmed. At this point, the
President Hotel is quite definitely not ready to accept tour groups.
In fact, I would avoid it under any circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenlandFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for one night and it was fine. The bathroom was super small, and it's dated, but I would stay again. It was booked for us, so I'm not sure if there are better options in Split, but certainly is OK if the rates are comparable. It is walking distance to the water. We did get stuck in the elevator, but that happens!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loures, Portugal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel classified with five stars? Maybe three stars! Good rooms, but bad service and bad food. Not recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afonsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Summary:
Fairly located close to the centre of Split, it is an old-styled Hotel with spacious rooms but a very poor buffet breakfast. I will try another place next time.

Detailed experience:
Facilities and site - Old style hotel, retro decoration, located not in the centre of Split, but at a fair walking distance of it (about 5-10 minutes);
F&B - Very poor breakfast. But If you're only into Irish/UK breakfast you'll do alright though (bacon, eggs, sausages, etc);
Rooms - Relatively spacious, but sleep quality is very important and this room didn't provide it. Although climatized, the negative points are related with the matress (too soft). In addition, the "duvet trend" is something which I oppose completely. No sheets, no blankets, only the duvet... Either you sweat with it, either you feel cold without it. I ended up taking the darned duvet out of its cover and using the cover as a sheet. Plus, the bathroom had no bidet. I am aware this is something which is regarded as obsolet for some people/cultures, but not for mine!

Thus, If I ever go back to Split, I would be inclined to try other places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortugueseTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Location good, room ok and in the process of refurbishment, food mediocre, but the bar prices were horrendous and it was difficult to find the staff to serve you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrinklytripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Split
3.1 mi away
Hotel President Solin
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#24 of 55 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#33 of 55 in Split
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#49 of 55 in Split
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#22 of 55 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#46 of 55 in Split
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Starcheviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing