We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy climb, pretty views”
Review of Marjan

Marjan
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.57*
and up
Split Electric Bicycle Tour
Ranked #5 of 162 things to do in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beaverton, OR
Level Contributor
205 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Easy climb, pretty views”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Easy climb up the hill to great views of old town Split. Walk along the hill, pretty flat, and get some really great views of the sea. A picture taking must. Starts out with a lot of stairs, but it is worth the climb. Not too crowded. A nice change of pace from the city

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beavertontim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    488
    82
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fancy a walk!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I did enjoy this walk which took us to the cross and flag pole that you can see from Split Riva Harbour! I am working on my fitness and have to say it was a challenge for me and I felt exhilarated when I got to the top! Lots of steps!! My husband though who is fitter didn't find it particularly challenging!!! I would say that it is worth spending a few hours in Split doing this walk. The views at the top are lovely. Visit the Jewish cemetery half way up.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bene beach”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stone and concrete beach but lovely for bathing and lots of fish to watch. Terrific views. Pine woods behind Café/restaurant and play park - no shops. Get the No 12 bus from the Riva (nth end) get off where it turns round. Also easy walk from town, Very quiet in early June

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely walk and views”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We followed the advice of the review titled "Take the easy route" below and had a lovely walk. We started about 2 hours before sunset and did the circle around the headland, not going right out to the far end of the peninsula, but looping up past the zoo and back down to the bar and terrace overlooking the city just in time for sunset. It was lovely to sit back and take in the view of the city as the dark se in and the lights started to twinkle, all while enjoying a lovely cold beer. Looks like they may be trying to renovate the botanical gardens that you walk past. They appear closed and overgrown at present but, hopefully that will change.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ajk1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
174 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great stroll for views but if you have a car, drive towards the beach. From the tunnel, make a right Šetalište Ivana Meštrovića. On the left side, there's a small road that lead to a beach. It was a great find as the sea breeze were soothing we ended up napping! :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjan also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Marjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing