We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grgur Ninski”

Grgur Ninski Statue
Book In Advance
More Info
$508.55*
and up
Private Tour: Nin and Royal Vineyards from Zadar
More Info
$94.83*
and up
Private Tour: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik
Ranked #18 of 164 things to do in Split
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roman colony: Colonia Martia Julia Salonae.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Grgur Ninski”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had an amazing tour guide, Barač, who told us the story of Grgur Ninski and why he has a statue in front of the Diocletian Palace. Make sure you rub his toe and pee on it for good luck!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    259
    143
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Glorious”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We touched the big toe and heard the entire story from our guide. Would recommend a visit, it's really wonderful to see with your own eyes

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Make sure to Make a Wish!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Also in and around Old Town it the Grgur Statue. If your walking around, you will probably stumble upon it. Make sure to touch Grgur's toe and make a wish!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Itravelalot1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wishing statue :)”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A large statue created by Ivan Mestrovic - the most famous Croatian sculptor and architect. There is a story about the golden thumb of the statue.. It says that if You touch the golden thumb and make a wish at the same time.. the wish will surely come true.. it proved to be true in my case - my wish really came true!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“gold finger”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I travel a lot and I haven´t seen statue like this. Wishing statue :) legend says- Make a wish, touch a gold finger and it comes true.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chloe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grgur Ninski Statue also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Grgur Ninski Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing