We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and well situated hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
lausanne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice and well situated hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

I stayed for 5 nights in the hotel, while visting Split and the islands. The staff were very helpful, accomodating and kind and the room perfect. The hotel is very well situated inside Diocletian's palace and walking distance from the harbour, bus station and train station. I would reocmmend it for families as welll as couples or single travellers.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Maybe internet facilities
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rfbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    101
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
74
116
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed at the Slavija twice over a week as a jumping off point for the islands and the mainland in September.

For the price and location this hotel was great. It was very clean and the air conditioning was on prior to getting into the room, which was needed as it was 30 degree outside!

The rooms were large and the terrace was an added bonus (Rooms 405 & 406 have terraces!).

Breakfast was fine, bread, cereal, juice, coffee etc, but the breakfast room is very small, but you can order your breakfast to your room and have it on your terrace, which is fantastic!

Location was a little difficult to find initially, but when you find it you realise how central it is to everything!! Literally everything on your doorstep!

The only problem we had was a broken shower head, which wouldn’t stay up, but we dealt with that !

Would definitely stay again!

  • Liked — Having a large terrace !
  • Disliked — Broken shower head !
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kad7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

This hotel is great. It's within the palace walls so is in a "must see" location. The building is charming on the outside, but modern inside. The lobby is fresh and sleek and the rooms upstairs are simple and clean. It was a nice quiet hotel but 20 feet from bars and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was great. I would highly recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

  • Liked — location and the simple decor of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing- I thought it was great!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

We spent 4 nights in this small, but perfectly located hotel and were up-graded to a "suite" with separate living area on top floor and views over roof-tops. Good size bathroom with easily controllable shower.. Very grateful for efficient air-conditioning and double glazing, ensuring a peaceful night's sleep So worth lugging a suitcase up several flights of steps as rooms on lower floors might experience more noise. Clean with comfortable bed.

Breakfast in small room downstairs basic but adequate and there are plenty of nearby restaurants offering cooked breakfasts if required

All staff helpful and friendly and spoke good English. Interestingly English seemed to be the lingua franca for other nationalities staying at hotel.

Superb location in old city within short walking distance of airport bus stop, Riva (seafront) ferry terminals and bus station.

Initially difficult to find:. suggest cross road from airport bus stop, walk along Riva with sea on the left, go past entrance to substructure of Diocletian's Palace and a short walk further on take the next right just after a Tabac into a small square. Leave the square by the top right hand exit and then turn sharp right just past a small cafe. Take a few long shallow steps up the alley and you will see the white steps up to the hotel entrance ahead of you.

A real find which our 2004 guidebook described as THE place to stay in Split---and this was before it was refurbished.

  • Liked — Room, staff, location
  • Disliked — carrying suitcase up a number of flights of stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnowAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

We were in hotel Slavija for 1 night and I saw a mouse in the bathroom.Probably came out from the toillet. I had to pay the full price of the room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mouse in my room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leann_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

Stayed at Hotel Slavija for a long weekend visit to Split. The hotel is easy to find in the Old Town's alleyways whch are well sign-posted. It is about a 5 minute walk from the taxi/bus drop off point at the marina.

The hotel staff were very friendly despite our early morning arrival and we were surprised that our room was ready. The room, although quite basic, was very clean with a TV and good strong airconditioning. Bathroom was also very clean. The only thing missing was a small refrigerator but hotel staff were very obliging when we bought a bottle of wine and they chilled it for us in the breakfast room. While the linens were not luxurious, they were changed daily and smelled very clean and fresh.

The continental breakfast was basic too but included in the price: cereal, bread, juice, etc.

Location is perfect: very close to the marina/waterfront area where there are many cafes and ice cream shops. Plenty of restaurants within the old town area and there are several beaches about 15-20 minutes walk away.

The previous reviews mentioned noise as a potential problem but we did not have any trouble with it at all. There is a cocktail bar right by the hotel but with the airconditioning on and with our room on the 2nd floor facing the back of the building, we had very restful nights.

Overall, the staff were wonderful and this is a perfect tourist hotel for a short break. I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Slavija.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — No refrigerator in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights, midweek. Got a fabulous room (303) with a lovely terrace, and extra room with chaise longe! Bathroom a little small, but adequate. Overlooks busy streets with bars, but noise fairly well controlled with double glazing and shutters. Not sure if other rooms might have been noisier as closer to the street. Bars shut at 01:00, so not too much of a bother unless you are a very early bird and light sleeper. Hotel is right in the heart of the old town and palace area, so you can't really beat it for location. Wifi in reception area. Breakfast is fairly basic. Coffee and tea cold, though we usually arrived close to the end of servings, so if you get there at 06:00 the water might well be hot! We would have spent all of our time in Split in this hotel, but room was already booked and we didn't really want to stay in one of the smaller rooms so we moved to Royal Apartments - will post about that later.

  • Liked — roof terrace
  • Disliked — no lift and heavy baggage to heave up the stairs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
0.1 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.6 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Property: Hotel Slavija
Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing