We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best 3 star hotel and service I had ever had!”
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This little haven is placed in the center of town, better to say inside the Diocletian’s palace, close to everything (not even a 5 minute walk to ferry port and bus station). So if you want to enjoy Split this is the place to stay. This place is actually monument of culture… I couldn’t believe when I was told the history of this place.
We were looking for accommodation in Split over a month, and I must say it is too expensive in all the hotels there. Hotel Slavija gave us a 15% discount on room rates; it was 15% less than on Booking.com and Expedia… So if you want to save money contact them directly.
After checking in we received a map of town, map of Palace, had a private walking tour around the palace (and this was almost half a price than the local tourist guide office offered us).
After reading about Hotel I saw that lot of people complained on breakfast, Wifi or noise, I must say we only had great experience. The breakfast was really good (this is a 3 star hotel, so for this type of Hotel they are more than ok, it was great.. We did not have a problem with noise, we know that Split is Mediterranean town so for the place in hart of this town we know what to expect, but I must say that the noise is definitely not a problem. (If you wish to avoid noise you can stay in Hotels that are far from the old town like Radisson Blue, or Meridian…)
I would recommend this Hotel to everybody. The staff is great and really keen to help and they do try to make your stay really enjoyable. Location is unbeatable. Split itself is like a journey to history lesson but not boring jet exciting and lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rose e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Slavija
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 375 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel within the walls of the old city palace. The staff is extremely helpful. They are trained guides for the Palace and will take you on a tour. Marjan went out of her way to help us with renting a car, transport to and from the airport, restaurant recommendations, etc. We stayed there for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and returned for a night at the end. It was like coming home! We would recommend reserving the rooms with terraces. The only drawback to being in the Palace is the noise from the streets below. Bring ear plugs to sleep!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Clubnederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here here on 3 occasions in May 2013. This is a nice clean hotel in a great location. The staff here are amazing and could not do enough for us, even letting us leave luggage there when we went to the islands. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jakey777Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Great location, clean large rooms, with very comfortable beds, and friendly and informative staff,for whom nothing was too much trouble. They even let us store our luggage there on our last day in Split, despite the fact we'd checked out 3 days earlier to go to the island of Hvar.

It meant our last day on holiday was spent on the beach and having a great time rather than sitting forlornly in one place surrounded by our luggage for 12 hours.

Cannot wait to go back very soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank EDGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The only thing I can say is – go and stay in this place.
It is recommended as best hotel for business travelers in Split but I would say it is also really romantic, little haven in the center of the very busy town.
After a stressful day usually I just go to my room to rest and finish the day’s work.. But in this Hotel it is a pleasure to sit on the reception, do your work and just talk with receptionists. I even got a chance to visit the Roman baths in the basement of the Hotel. They have a window from the basements directly linked to the basements of the Palace… and also had a short history lesson of Split and Hotel Slavija.
I stayed there for 7 days and after a 3rd day was offered a free upgrade to a double room with terrace for the same money.... so I can enjoy in the sun and view overlooking the town ??? I have never had this kind of service before I am a frequent traveler.
People you see there will do everything to make your stay enjoyable and stress free.

Room Tip: They do not have smimming pool- so just ignore my rate for it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location, this hotel is right by the plaza, clean, friendly, lovely room with a large balcony, room 414 I think it was, very boutique feel - we went last weekend, it was a suprise birthday weekend, and this place was very special as it is part of the Emperor's palace.

Really friendly team who work there, always smiling and that goes with the rest of Split, friendly, smiling faces everywhere and very reasonably priced...

Breakfast was good, the breakfast room is small so there is the addition of being able to have breakfast in the room or in reception..

Would highly recommend, very close to everything!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LJRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Where to start!
Location,in-design,comfort,receptionist and all other employees were so frinedly and sooo helpful!
Once more I want to thanks them:)
I really felt so good all 5-days there,i"ve been to many places but never felt so "home" like.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Jurgen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.1 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#6 of 56 in Split
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 56 in Split
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range: $74 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing