We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza had in long time”

Pizzeria Portas Food & Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 522 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Pizzeria Portas is a family restaurant located in the center of Split inside the Diocletian's palace at the corner of Golden Gates. Inspired by the old town and tradition, Pizzeria Portas brings truthful dalmatian atmosphere and real touch of Split history for more than 7 years. With specialty in Italian cuisine, we deliver high quality pizzas, homemade pasta and gnocchi as our main courses. Various types of starters and salads complete the whole experience of our kitchen made of fresh local ingredients and homemade products. We are also vegetarian friendly! On the outside terrace covered by leaves or by the inside seating with old time spirit you can feel true dalmatian atmosphere. And in the tiny street of palace, by the Golden Gates, you can find the best pizza in the old town!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On hotel recommendation we gave this place a try and wow the best pizza, I ordered the Hawaian pizza which is hard to find over here and it had plenty of toppings including pineapple and came really quickly, the staff were very friendly. They also do pasta as well

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Y6134QYkimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzeriaportas, Manager at Pizzeria Portas Food & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Y6134QYkimm, thank you very much for choosing Portas upon recommendation of the hotel! We are glad to see that you enjoyed Hawaian pizza and that we managed to fulfill your order! Looking forward to see you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great pizza - and amazing location. I was suprised how good was dough and service was amazing. I will be back

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Jelantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzeriaportas, Manager at Pizzeria Portas Food & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jelantone, we are happy to hear your words and thank you for the reccomendation! We are expecting your return! With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent little find, we stumbled across it, ate here twice. Good food and wine and reasonable prices.
Excellent waiter, didn’t catch his name.
But very good food, service and price.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank SotonJust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzeriaportas, Manager at Pizzeria Portas Food & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear SotonJust, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and returning twice to our place! We are happy to hear all your precise words regarding your recommendation. We are hoping to see you again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Diner at Portas whilst staying in Split with my partner. We decided to go to Portas as we were both fancying some Hearty Italian food, and the reviews from previous customers were brilliant. We were not disappointed. The staff were very attentive and very polite at Portas. We both went for Fettucino dishes, with the bolognese and Carbonara, and added bread and a Rocket salad as sides. The food was delicious, beautiful thick pasta coated heavily in a rich, flavourful sauce. There was no scrimping on the sauce, and I even used some of the bread to mop up the remainder of the bolognese once finished.
The setting, a small two-tiered courtyard, shrouded with climbing plants gave the restaurant a great ambience, and added to the atmosphere of the meal.
It was also unbelievable value for money, in regards to food quality and portions.
I would highly recommend Portas if you are looking for classic Italian cuisine with a beautiful back drop whilst in Split.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank LaBevann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzeriaportas, Manager at Pizzeria Portas Food & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear LaBevann, thank you very much for taking your time for writing such a wonderful review! We are delighted to hear all your words regarding the dishes, stuff and ambience! Once again, thank you for your honest recommendation and we are looking forward to see you again. With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In total we visited 4 times over the 9 days we were in split. So I guess you could say it’s pretty good! All pizzas and pastas we tried were yummy and always had loads of toppings/sauce. Service was great, location is great, setting is lovely and food usually came out pretty fast. We even had a takeaway one day and it was great too. Recommend!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Adventure667626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzeriaportas, Manager at Pizzeria Portas Food & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Adventure667626, thank you very much for taking your time and writing such a wonderful review! We were very happy to see you coming for couple of times! Your words about the service and the whole ambient mean so much for us. We are looking forward to see you again! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Portas Food & Restaurant also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Pizzeria Portas Food & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing