We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly modern. convenient location, marvelous staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marul
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly modern. convenient location, marvelous staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed in Split for one night, on July 4. We found this hotel online, and were sooo happy with our choice. It is SO conveniently located to the old palace area of Split, which we wanted to explore on foot, for about 1/4 of the price because it is not IN the old city. The hotel is also very eco-concious - for example, the air conditioning will not activiate if there are any windows open (sensors are built in). What a great idea! The staff were MARVELOUS - like other reviews, we had a difficult time finding the front door. So we called, and they sent someone out to find us wandering the steet, almost 1/2 a block away from where we shouold have been! What service like that do you find nowadays? One other big plus is there is a huge parking area practically right behind the hotel - a HUGE plus when you have a vehicle, and most hotels do not accomodate it. I would highly recommend this hotel for the person who wants to go out and explore, while conveniently located for those adventures.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanja P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Mrs. Anita,

Thank you for the kind words and for the visit. It is always nice to know that our guests were enjoying during their visit. We do hope to greet you once again here and we are looking forward to your visit.

Kind regards from our Hotel Marul Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    44
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
92
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

By all means, in summer, hotels are extremely expensive in Split Old Town.
Marul Hotel is also expensive, but they will make it worth, especially the staff. They will greet you with a big smile, make you feel like you are the most important guest of the hotel and accomodate every need you have.
Unlike other hotels in the Old town, this one is completely refurbished, and if you will not be thrilled by the small pedestrian street is is located on, have a coffee in the back yard or try the Menu of Day and you will reconsider !
I had a charming room on the top floor, probably the former attic, with a very interesting design (the bath tube was in the room)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanja P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Andrea,

Indeed, you`ve got one of the nicest rooms in the hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience which, we hope, will be helpful to other guests.
It was a pleasure and no trouble at all making your visit unforgettable.
We are looking forward to your visit and hope to greet you once again here!

Kind regards from Hotel Marul Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

From start to finish our stay here was above and beyond the best experience I've ever had at any hotel! A friend and I were traveling through the area and planned on staying in Split as a stop over before catching the ferry to Hvar. We chose Marul for the location and it looked modern on the web.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Sanja! She was the sweetest most helpful host we have ever encountered. She was more than happy to show us to the room to get us settled in. There were chocolates and treats there that she was so proud of. You would have thought she owned the place, she took such pride in the hotel and our comfort. We had a great dinner and breakfast at the hotel and were even given free shuttle service to the bars as well as to the ferry in the morning. If you ever find yourself in Split this hotel is a must! And tell Sanja that Todd says hello!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nottus2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanja P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Luis,

Thank you very much for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you as our guests, even though you were here just for one night. It is always nice to know that the guest appreciates the attention. It makes us proud of what we do.
Kind regards from our entire Hotel Marul Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. It's walking distance to the Riva, Diocletian's Palace, Ferry Port, lots of restaurants and the beach. The hotel staff are all very friendly and speak good English. The bedrooms and bathroom are well appointed, we stayed in a Superior Double Room which also had a balcony. The buffet breakfast was good, with eggs cooked to order. I would certainly recommend this hotel for couples on holiday and business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanja P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mrs. Susie,

Thank you indeed for your kind words!
We appreciate you recognizing our concern about every single guest.
Hope to see you again here with us!

Kind regards from our hotel Marul Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
932 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is very new and lovely, it is family owned and they are very friendly , the rooms are elegant and fresh looking and clean, the bathrooms a great. As you are only 500 mt from the promenade they do not have a restaurant,they are more then happy to tell you were the good ones are, they do serve breakfast, mostly cold cuts, you can order omelet if you like. Love the location

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMarul, Front Office Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Mrs. Maria,

thank you very much for the kind words!
We were happy to have you as our guest!

Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

What a gem of a find!! Only in their second season this lovely boutique hotel, a ten minute walk to Diocletian's Palace, has every amenity. Spacious attractive rooms overlooking a small terrence garden, very contemporary bathrooms and a gracious and helpful staff who provided candid and accurate suggestions for everything from outstanding restaurants to cab fare estimates,

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanja P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. Michelle,
First of all, thank you very much for the visit, we enjoyed having you as our guest! The restaurant opening has been arranged for the beginning of June, and we will do our best to make something special out of it.
We do hope you will come to stay with us again, as each guest is valuable as a family member here!
Kind regards from our Staff!
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Open only since August 14, 2013, this has been a great find for us. Located just a 5 minute walk from the Riva, this friendly, small (14 rooms) hotel has all the amenities you need. We found the staff to be super. The hardest thing is to find the front door, it's on a small back alley.

The rooms have a large screen TV, brand new bathrooms with great hot water. Dark curtain to help you adjust to your jet lag. Beds are mostly singles and comfortable with 2 pillows each and divine duvets. Elevator for upper floors (4 in all).

Later this month (May 2014) they should be opening the restaurant, and dining will be available outside on the terrace, which has a beautiful small park/grassy area.

Our special thanks to the staff, Anna, Sonja, and Iris at the front desk, and every morning a full European style breakfast served up by Martina. All managed well by Slavko, one of the two investors.

It took them five years to get all the permits, so go see them. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We liked room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Dave,
First of all, thank you very much for paying attention to writing the review, which, I hope, other, potential guests, will find helpful.

We are always happy to learn more, eager to find out your opinion and make it worth the effort.

Once again, we hope you will surely choose us once again for your accommodation in Split!

Kindest regards from our Hotel Marul Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marul

Property: Hotel Marul
Address: Ciril-Metodova 7, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marul 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marul is set 500 metres from UNESCO-protected Diocletian's Palace and features an a la carte restaurant and a bar. Its modern air-conditioned rooms comprise an LCD satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. Decorated in pastel tones, all rooms are fitted with minibar, safe and a private bathroom with shower or a bath tub. Some units offer a furnished balcony. The popular Riva Promenade with numerous bars, restaurants and charming shops can be reached in a 10-minute walk, while the well-known Bacvice Beach is 1.5 From the property. Hotel Marul offers bike and car rental service at a surcharge. There is a children playground next to the property. Ferry and Catamaran Port with lines to islands of Korcula, Vis and Hvar, is located 1 km away. Split Airport is at a distance of 21 km. Parking is available at near public parking and it's price is 10,00 EUR per day and vehicle. Rooms Room type: Standard Double or Twin Room Decorated in pastel tones, this air-conditioned room features a flat-screen satellite TV, minibar, safe and bathroom with free toiletries. Room type: Superior Double or Twin Room Luxury decorated, this spacious air-conditioned room features a flat-screen satellite TV, minibar and a laptop safe box. The bathroom with shower or a bath tub includes free toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Marul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing