We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The model for hostels!”
Review of Hostel Emanuel

Hostel Emanuel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Emanuel
Ranked #35 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Split
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This place had only just opened and had very few reviews when we went in the summer. We were nervous but arriving in town late & thought it was worth a look. Best decision ever!

This was easily the nicest hostel I ever stayed in (and I've been to a lot over the years!).

The owner is a builder and told us he did most of the work himself. The beds all have lights, power & privacy curtains that work. They are sturdy too, you don't feel you neighbours every move like those units you get in many places.

The aircon was very welcome and the bathrooms were spotless.

The lack of kitchen / party space may bother some, but for those who want a good night's sleep, clean showers & beautiful decor this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFan880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stylish decor and innovative use of space. The attention to detail is outstanding. The staff feel like family. Other than the fact it doesn't have a party vibe (which I certainly wasn't looking for anyway... but I know some backpackers crave in Europe hostels) it was absolutely perfect. I had friends staying at some other high rated hostels in Split... this was the best by far!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MC_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I loved this hostel - small, friendly, pristine bathrooms, spacious dorms - it has got everything. The owners are a gorgeous couple and clearly put their heart and soul into the place and have carefully chosen their staff who are very helpful and cheerful. The place is brand new in an old block of apartments with only two dorms - one 5 bed and one 10 bed. This means it really has a very homely feel making it easy to know the other travelers as well as the staff. It was also very quiet at night and the whole place had a relaxing atmosphere. There is so much space around your bed and they have the built in bunks - not the horrible old rattlers, plus a large locker for your gear (even had hanging space and hangers in the locker). There are laptops in the dorms for guests to use, decent snack plus great coffee for breakfast and the advice from Reception is spot on. Showers are wonderful - very clean, powerful water pressure and great lighting for the girls. I highly recommend this place. They don't have a website yet (on it's way they tell me) but I just rocked up and got lucky - even scored a bottom bunk! This is the best hostel not only in Split but one of the best in the Adriatic. Very impressive!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teekay341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Another fully booked hostel recommended Hostel Emanuel to us as a 'new hostel I've heard good things about'. We decided to try it and it was excellent. It only has a 10 bed room and a 5 bed room but these have plenty of space. There is also a great homely feel to it as well, the staff are super friendly and you get to know everyone staying there. Only a 5 min walk to bus/ferry station and old town.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lafrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We met a friend traveling through Split and ended up at the Emanuel Hostel, the place was amazing hence their fully booked status - however due to their brilliant service m&s family feel they quickly put up another be an welcomed u in. Clean, fresh, new, friendly, cheap! Breakfast in the morning and very good bathrooms/showers etc. free wifi etc etc...couldn't recommend more but max 16 bed, book In advance if say.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hillsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Directions were perfect, easy to find, and the place is just so clean and fresh. I genuinely don't believe I have found a Hostel in many years of travelling that has put thing's together so well.
There are two laptops for everybody to use, it's got nice bathrooms and a powerful shower which was epic as I was superhungover the next morning, they even offered us a croissant when we got in late too. Well impressed, would highly recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: Book early as this will sell out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hostel is an amazing place to stay. It is situated just 5-10 minutes walk from the bus terminals/ferries and the palace walls.
The owner is very friendly and there is someone on reception at all hours.
There are a few things missing like a fridge and a kitchen but the owner knows this and has plans to extend out and do more work.
The beds are very comfortable with a curtain and your own socket and light and each comes huge locker in the room for bags.
Also free croissants and coffee/tea in the morning which are perfect if you are going to get an early flight as are open from 6.30 through to 11.
It had only been open 2 months, but you would never have guessed as it is so professional with a great feeling.
So overall it is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbie4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0 mi away
Private Accommodation Raspudic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartments Matic
Apartments Matic
#225 of 512 in Split
15 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ark Beach Apartments
Ark Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in Stobrec
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#25 of 58 in Split
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Emanuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Emanuel

Address: Tolstojeva 20, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Split
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Emanuel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing