We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find”
Review of Uje oil bar

Uje oil bar
Ranked #46 of 402 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Uje oil bar is the first croatian olive oil bar dedicated totaly to the mediteranian food based on the olive oil. This is the place where you can taste more than 50 varieties of the best croatian olive oils, and most of them are also on sale in our shop wich is incorporated in the oil bar. Apart from the olive oil you can tase many diferent croatian delicaties and enyoj in the traditional ingredients and flavours. Some of those ingrediants you can also buy in our shop.On our menu you will find many small local dishes, that are traditionaly eaten in Split, and we give them to you presented in a original way.We have a daily menu wich is rather short but fresh. We write a new daily menu every day and it is based only on the igredients we have bought fresh that day. Our signiture dish is our bread made with olive oil. We are baking it every day and it is one of the most important reasons to visit our place.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I enjoyed my dinner, and was able to find some good vegetarian options. The food was fresh and I enjoyed the olive oil tastings. Nicely situated, although the tables up the side of the restaurant are less appealing due to the wafts of urine coming from nearby. The service was not great and I think the rabies up the side were often forgotten. However, I did enjoy the food.

Thank Jac2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 786 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

Can not be more Mediterranean setting for the restaurant than here with rustical interior and exterior exposed to the noise of the narrow street(s). Vast choice of dishes on the menu required assistance from the waiter with whom we agreed on array of our dishes. Highest quality local food with modern gastronomical touches, arrived all at once (should be in some order , but, o.k., it was pretty crowded) quite solid local red wine, selection of good Istrian olive oils....if you want to run away from usually confectionary Croatian tourist restaurants this is the place to go, yet, do not expect miracles.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tomislav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Poor food: took long for the meals to arrive. Nothing special - poor salads with very rude vegetables. My son ordered a beefsteak and asked for it medium well , it came dry. Meals took too long for getting cooked - our general feeling is one of deep disapointment !!!!!
We had to argue with the waiter in order to get a discount. Not the best !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Guy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Dear, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

At first glance a very nice decorated place with good ambience and full tables. It was our first night in Split and we asked for recommended dishes but were only offered two types of okay, but average tasting olive oils and bread!? The menu were confusing, dishes very poorly described - eg. hake and chickpeas, fish fillet in wrap - no further description, mention of ingredients, garnishment. When I asked questions to the menu, I was met rudely and felt ridiculed by the waiter. We ordered olive paste and a selection of four cheeses with fig jam for starter, which ended up being the best part of the meal. No idea of what cheeses we had - no explanation offered by the waiter! Ordered fish fillet in wrap and cuttlefish Venetian style and a marine salad as side dish. Waited a long time on main courses - fish I wrap were small, ok tasty but overcooked, cuttlefish in black (ink) sauce not to my tasting served with polenta, salad were a bit boring and very missing cherry tomatoes. Had a good glass for white wine each and a bottle of water. Requesting more water during main course, but didn't get it until half an hour later with the bill - waiter was meanwhile busy talking to local guests and with his cell phone! On the bill we were charged for a more expensive first class fish 'in wrap' though we had ordered 'fish fillet in wrap' - not knowing that there was these two options and the waiter not clearing this with us. Again we were met rudely when asking to this and ended up just paying the bill - wouldn't come back or recommend anyone to eat here!!!!!

3  Thank Pernilleluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Dear, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stumbled upon this place by chance whilst wandering around the city and had a lovely meal here. The portions are very generous - my husband had the steak and I had the the tuna, both of which were cooked to perfection - it was lovely and fresh, and it was great to be able to taste the different olive oils. A novel idea for a restaurant and perfectly executed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uje oil bar also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Uje oil bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing