We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Close it,now!

The animals are kept in poor conditions, the building are falling apart, should be closed ASAP. It... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2015
NePilajMe
,
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Disturbing

Not many animals, but the ones we did see looked as though they were starving. As well as ten or so... read more

Reviewed May 24, 2019
suehomeopath
,
Kendal, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 64 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Split
from $30.81
More Info
from $108.42
More Info
from $114.12
More Info
from $74.18
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
3
7
11
7
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3
7
11
7
36
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 64 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is by far the worst zoo I have ever seen. I've visited many zoos in many cities and I struggle to understand how this one is even functioning. They charge what is the equivalent to $2 to get in, by far the cheapest entrance fee of any sight in Split, so how can they possibly be taking adequate care of these poor animals. The bears had pens that were about the same size as most people's homes, there was feces everywhere (I get that it's a zoo, but this was beyond what I have ever seen), and the food being given to the animals looked like it was completely rotten. Someone please shut this place down and send the animals somewhere else!!!

Date of experience: October 2013
13  Thank doc111872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stumbled upon this small zoo at the top of the hill overlooking Split. The admission was cheap (10 Kuna for adults and 5 kuna for children) and our children wanted to go, so we did. They had some ducks, injured birds, ostrich, guinea pigs and ponies which was okay. Then we came across the lonely wolf, two monkeys and two bears living in tiny cages in complete isolation. This became a lesson to our children about how NOT to treat animals. Horrendous!

Date of experience: October 2013
13  Thank GayleG336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is without a doubt the worst zoo I have ever been to! I would be better described as Split animal prison. All of the animals (Especially the monkeys and awesome otter) look terribly depressed, to the point where you plan to go back and break them out at night. Id advise you stay away from this place unless you actually can rescue these animals or enjoy being sad.

Date of experience: August 2013
14  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The zoo in Split is located at the very top of the Marjan Hill and can be reached by foot from the old town in about 20-30 minutes. Unfortunately on the top of the hill you will find a very sad place and tears may easily wet your eyes.

There is a small range of animals including bears, wolves, donkeys and monkeys. Some of the cages are ridiculously small and animals does not look happy at all. The most shocking cage was for the biggest animals in the zoo - bears. The tiger's cage was also really small, but no tiger was present, maybe he was inside what looked like a nightmarish doghouse with tiny windows. All in all, a terrible experience. Also the most child-unfriendly zoo I have ever seen, a lot of dangerous stairs, no way you can enter that place with stroller.

This zoo is an utter disgrace, I do not get how it is still open. You don't get even close to a feeling of visiting nature instead of tiny and filthy prison.

Date of experience: May 2013
39  Thank Iksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is a small old style Zoo with small encloses for a number of different animals and birds, a lot of the larger animals look a bit sad in the small caged spaces as there is not enough room for them the really exercise. A lot of the local schools do trips to the zoo as well as a number of tourists who make it up the top of the hill. To get to this Zoo you have to walk up a great number of steps in the large park called Marjan, there is a road up to the Zoo but it is restricted to authorised vehicle only. A place to take the children to see some animals and birds, but not that big to make it a whole day out affair the rest of the Marjan park is good for a relaxing walk in the shade on hot days.

Date of experience: August 2012
8  Thank wrighton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews