We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day trip in our week”
Review of Celebrus Blue Lagoon Tour - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Celebrus Blue Lagoon Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the greatest ways to experience Split and its archipelago is from the sea on a boat tour. First destination is beautiful Blue Lagoon with it’s unique landscape, crystal clear waters, 2 m deep bay, that is ideal for snorkeling and other water activities. While heading to the Blue Lagoon you might even be able to see dolphins since this is their natural habitat and they are often being seen on this part of our trip. For lunch guests can pick fish, meat or vegetarian menu.After the first break we are heading to our second destination, Maslinica on the island of Solta. Most important attraction is Martinis-Marchi castle from the beginning of the 18th century. You will hardly notice when your cruise draws to an end, but all is not lost. Late afternoon sail back to Split will bring you happiness and unique experience of Dalmatia, memories to treasure many years to come.
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best day trip in our week”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The whole trip was 260 kuna, or 34 euro, each with lunch and wine included. Departing at 9am, we took one hour and thirty minutes to arrive at the lagoon. Paullina, the lady marketing the tour on the promenade told myself to get in the lagoon with my group or I would really regret it. I cannot swim and I am afraid of deep water, and the rest of my group are not strong swimmers. The guys on the boat gave me a life jacket, they did not pressure me to do anything I didn't want, and gave swimming advice to other members of my group. You are allowed to jump from the top deck of the boat and the water is unbelievable. I spent half an hour relaxing in the water and it is the first time in 10 years I felt comfortable getting in water out of my depth. The lagoon is great for snorkeling and swimming and socializing with other passengers. We were allowed to bring anything we wanted on the boat so at dinner time we shared around a bottle of vodka with other tourists. On board there was a fridge to store drinks. Dinner was fish (mackerel), chicken (marinated) or vegetarian. Chicken and Mackerel were amazing and we had huge portions of food that were bbq'd in front of us, we were so full we had to leave a lot of food there. Then after lunch we traveled to Maslinica where there is a nice pebble beach, good for snorkeling, where a friend of mine lost his sunglasses in the water. A local Croatian loaned his snorkeling gear to him in order to find his sunglasses immediately. Beers there are cheaper than mainland, about 16 kuna for 500ml draft. There is enough to do in the 2 hours there and we saw the Church of St. Nikolas, walked a trail, had some beers, and swam at the beach. We arrived back on board and had some fun with the Tyson on the boat, played cards and lay in the sun. When we arrived back at port Paullina gave us the best tourist information and advice we received on the whole trip, she really knows the area and is a great person. Best thing we did so far in Croatia.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn_wb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fabulous day!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I undertook this tour with Celebrus 2 days ago and had a wonderful time!

There was allocated seating on the boat (not herded like cattle as stated by a previous reviewer) and a 'top deck' for sunbathing.

When we arrived at the 'Blue Lagoon' the boat was anchored in the water (few hundred yards off shore) and stayed there for an hour and a half while we swam in the beautiful clear water and/or sunbathed on the top deck. The weather was gorgeous and the water warm - it was wonderfully relaxing experience.

Next came lunch on the boat - a choice if fish, chicken or vegetarian. All barbecued on the deck and served with salad, bread & wine or soft drink.

After this the boat set sail again, this time for the tiny harbour village of Milinina and the island of Brac. The boat docked here around two and half hours - plenty of time to have a wander round the tiny village and find a spot on the sizable rocky beach or a quieter spot on your own (I found a lovely little spot with no one else in the vicinity).

Finally it was time to sail back to Split. A slightly different route was taken on the return so the views were slightly different.

The staff spoke reasonably good English and throughout the whole trip were polite, friendly and answered questions about the boat, the trip, places visited etc.

I can highly recommend this trip but do make sure you choose the right company as there are several operators offering similar!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xenwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“mass tourism”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Blue Lagoon Tour is one of the day excursions from Split where you feel part of a herd of cattle. They push as many people as possible on a small boat and offer little value - just like the numerous tour operators who push as many people as possible on a coach and push them around all day according to a very strict time schedule. I would not recommend any of them (no matter how expensive they are - the more expensive ones aren't any better than the cheaper ones!) - just like I don't recommend the Blue Lagoon Tour. They offer several experiences in one day, but if you are staying in or around Split, you will get all of those elsewhere, on your own and at your own pace, and with the company you prefer.

- cruising over blue water with amazing views over the islands: you can get those by taking one of the regular ferries. They are cheaper, larger, more stable, more comfortable and above all: safer.

- visit to Trogir: we had about 45 min to walk around Trogir. This UNESCO listed town is worth a longer visit than that. I recommend to organise your own transport to Trogir (car, bus ...) and visit the town at your own pace, with time to visit the castle and the cathedral.

- picnic at the private reserve on Blue Lagoon Island: the guy "welcoming" us was quite rude, and it was obvious that we were the n-th group he was receiving, and he was not at all interested. He brought us to a place that is very badly maintained, with loose stones etc. There was an invasion of wasps around the water/wine/apple juice coolers, and if you are courageous enough to tap some apple juice with approximately 50 wasps flying around the tap and your hand, as soon as you have filled your cup, a number of wasps are already in it. If you finally succeed to get them out, some of the wasps follow you to your seat and circle around your cup, your hands and your food. There is no way to get rid of them - we ended up changing seats and drinking the water we had brought ourselves to avoid luring the wasps to our seats.

- traditionally cooked fish in stone oven: you can get this in most konobas in and around Split.

- beach and swimming in a clear blue sea: you can do this in many places, a.o. Stobrec and Podstrana.

Furthermore, you have to consider that as this cruise is probably the cheapest around, it attracts some rather marginal types. Most of our group were absolutely ok, but a few males started drinking beer on the way back, and became rather noisy and annoying. As you are all packed on a small vessel, there is no way to leave, and you just have to endure them. One of them asked the captain to connect his iPod to the vessel's speakers and play his music very loud. At that time, there were about 5 people asleep, and we all woke up with a bang to his music. This caused me to get sea sick, while I had been completely fine before. They then started smoking as well - on a vessel that consists entirely of wood, ropes and carpet. And again, no way to escape from their disgusting cigarette smoke if you happened to sit downwind from them. The captain and tour operator bloke did not intervene at all. All coaches in England forbid drinking alcohol, smoking, eating hot food and noise on board - and that makes travel so much more pleasant for everyone. I cannot understand why they cannot do the same for this cruise. The sea was quite rough - in fact, we had stayed on Drvenik island in the afternoon and had not gone to the second island because of this reason - and the captain and tour operator bloke should think about everybody's comfort and realise that loud music and cigarette smoke do not help against sea sickness.

Useful tip:

As I said, there are several cruises to several small islands, and this is the cheapest as far as I know. From the brochures we looked through, it does not appear that the more expensive cruises offer better value.

If you want to book this cruise, book it directly with the company. They are located in a small boat at the Split Riva (another boat than the one cruising around). They charge 260 kuna per person and offer family and group discounts.

You can book this cruise under various other names (e.g. "Picnic cruise") with various tour operators, but they will charge you more (we paid 285 kuna per person), and you all end up on the same boat anyway, no matter how much more you paid.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaB936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crobinzone, General Manager at Celebrus Blue Lagoon Tour, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Celebrus Blue Lagoon Tour is organised with the boat Pisanica. You most certainly took a different tour, organized by the boat of a different company, because you explained itinerary that doesn't belong to our tour. We go to the Blue Lagoon and Maslinica on the island Solta, we do not go to Trogir.

Blue Lagoon as the destination - with Pisanica we stop almost in the middle of the Blue Lagoon depending on the weather conditions. Our guests in this way can have the most of the Blue Lagoon experience by jumping from the boat, swimming and snorkeling in the crystal clear sea.

Difference between Blue Lagoon and any other place in the area is that it is located between 3 islands and forms great oasis for anyone that likes swimming in the turquoise sea that is crystal clear with great visibility of the bottom sand.

Blue Lagoon you can only reach with organized excursion. There is possibility to take a ferry for Drvenik veil, but very difficult to organize going and coming back in same day.

Our boat has tables and benches and sun deck. It is standard excursion, full day, with lunch included, that we prepare on the boat and try to make it the best possible for our guests. We are trying to offer good value for your money.

Response to the useful tips:

285 kn per person is the price of the other company because Celebrus Blue Lagoon Tours costs 260 kn per person. The price is the same in any tour operator company and if you buy the ticket at the boat.

We do our best to offer best possible customer service and we are open for all reviews that will help us obtain better service for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celebrus Blue Lagoon Tour also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing