We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dubrovnik, Ston and more”

Private Guides Croatia
Ranked #7 of 188 Tours in Split
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Split, Trogir, Dubrovnik, Hvar, Rovinj, Kotor, Mostar, Krka and Plitvice Waterfalls, as well as other highlights of Croatia and the wider region, with personable, top quality licensed driver-guides. All the guides are locals, and very passionate about their city and country. We will pick you up from your cruise ship port or your hotel or at the airport and share with you on your private tour what makes Split, Dubrovnik, Croatia (and our region in general) so special - our history, arts and architecture, but also our traditions, food, wine and local life...
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dubrovnik, Ston and more”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We met Ante outside the main gate to Dubrovnik. We had time to grab lunch and talk, which gave Ante the chance to figure out what we might like rather than the canned tour, before meeting with the arranged guide for the history of Dubrovnik. Our guide was very informed and lead us through places that were off the beaten track. Afterwards we met back with Ante and decided to go to Ston and Mali Ston. What was nice about this was the surprise of doing something we hadn't even thought to do. The drive was pleasant, he's a very good driver, and gave us a chance to experience a bit more of the beautiful Adriatic coastline. Stopping at the Trsteno Aboretum we walked the old paths enjoying amazing cedars and the ancient Plane (Sycamore) tree that had to be more than 300 years. Ston was just a simple town with an interesting history from ancient to more recent times of which Ante filled us in on many details. We had dinner over in Mali Ston at the Captain's House, which had the best oysters I've ever eaten plus I think 6 other dishes.
The next day we took a guided hike along the coast from Cilipi to Cavtat (5 miles) through valleys and hills getting a real taste for the history of Ragusa 1358-1808. The pace was nice not to fast, not to slow. Ante proved to be a really good guide allowing us a pleasurable experience. I highly recommend him as a guide www.privateguidesincroatia.com
as he can figure out what you might be looking for in the land of Ragusa. We are experienced travelers and have used guides before so I feel confident in my review.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank DSC616_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Big Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plitvice National Park”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

National Park Plitvice Waterfalls: Matt was an excellent tour guide! He made it easy to get to Plitvice and tour the park. He was great with our children (aged 6 and 9 years) and made sure that we all enjoyed the experience. We enjoyed learning more about Croatia during our time with Matt and would recommend this tour or any one with Matt as a tour guide.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cruise Through Europe”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We returned from a RCCL cruise in June 2012 where one of the stops was Split Croatia. We used Private Guides company and Matt was our tour guide. The company was great to work with prior to the trip - making sure all the details were clearly spelled out and well organized which made me more comfortable prior to our stop. Matt was very professional and personable. We had three teenagers which is no easy task for a tour guide and they all loved talking to Matt and thoroughly enjoyed the day.

I will absolutely use Private Guides in the future and strongly recommend them.

Jim Yates
Colorado, USA

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JimY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful personalized tour of Split”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile


We recently returned from a Celebrity cruise where we toured Split. Our private tour guide in Split (Frank) was Prompt, Prepared, Personable and very Passionate. Frank added so much to our experience in Croatia. He quickly tuned into our personalities and made our time together a very personal one. We felt more like locals sharing than tourist seeing the sites. He was highly educated and shared the historical as well as the present and what is is like to be a citizen of this region. We HIGHLY recommend this tour. Rating is a 5.


Helpful?
2 Thank Stan054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Split and Trogir Sept 2012”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a fantastic 5 hours with Matt despite torrential rain. He accomodated all our needs, especially those of a parent needing to use a wheelchair., We were made very welcome and given a very informative and enjoyable tour of Split and Trogir.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Private Guides Croatia also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Private Guides Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing