We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krka National Park tour”
Review of Portal Day Tours

Portal Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 2005. “Portal Day Tours” has become one of the most popular tour operators in Croatia, but we still strive to maintain our personal service and Croatian hospitality. We organize day excursions for groups, private tours and shore excursions to the most beautiful sites in Croatia and surrounding areas which include: NP Plitvice Lakes, NP Krka Waterfalls & Sibenik, Dubrovnik, Mostar and Medugorje, speed boat excursions to Hvar and Blue Cave, city tours of Split and Trogir. We create unique experiences, design them to your needs and budget, being memorable for your entire life. Our main advantage are guaranteed departures of all trips during the period from April to October according to the weekly schedule. Our biggest hope is that you are able to experience, learn about and enjoy the daily lives, history, traditions and culture of the people and places of our fascinating country. Our guides and drivers, who are well trained and experienced will be glad to help you out in that.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We took a day trip to Krka national park with the greatest tour guide so far - thank you Ernest for being such an entertainer and educator :)! Even the weather conditions with the tropical rain at the park did not spoil the trip as we were in such good hands. The scenery was amazing and the specific detailed historical stories by Ernest made the trip even more exclusive. Hopefully we can return and take another trip, perhaps with the entertainer himself. Thank you for the experience!

2  Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Public Relations Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful and positive review. We are glad that you had a wonderful day on Krka Waterfalls with our guide Ernest. We look forward if you'll join us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Portal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"plitvice lakes"
in 289 reviews
"national park"
in 83 reviews
"guide ernest"
in 14 reviews
"bus driver"
in 26 reviews
"blue cave"
in 72 reviews
"lake tour"
in 15 reviews
"group tour"
in 24 reviews
"private tour"
in 50 reviews
"a late lunch"
in 11 reviews
"croatia's history"
in 15 reviews
"pakleni islands"
in 17 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 30 reviews
"own pace"
in 18 reviews
"excellent trip"
in 15 reviews
"great tour"
in 40 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 19 reviews
"visiting croatia"
in 16 reviews
Filter

1,240 - 1,244 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a fantastic tour with Tiho (our guide). Tiho knew a lot about Croatia & Bosnia and Herzegovina. He had fantastic energy and kept us laughing the whole trip - there and back. Mostar is gorgeous. A must-see if you are on this side of the world. We first went to Imotski and saw the Red & Blue Lakes, then stopped for a quick coffee. Then we headed to Mostar in BiH. It was breathtaking. We had a local tour guide there (Dado), who explained the history of the Old Town and the Old Bridge. His family stayed in Mostar during the war - incredible. We ate Cavapcici (a delicious sausage & bread dish - recommended by Tiho). We then headed to a Turkish village and then to Kravice Waterfalls. The whole trip was beautiful. The ride was informative and fun. There may not be many reviews of this tour (on here, or even in Split, Croatia) but it is well worth taking. Hopefully you will have as great of a guide as we did. Thanks, Tiho for all the laughs - you were fantastic!!!! Five stars!!!

6  Thank Lydia and Stefa... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Public Relations Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and sincere words. We are glad that you enjoyed day tour in Mostar and Kravice with our guide Tiho , and that you brought such a great holiday memories with you. It was our pleasure to organize this tour for you.
Thank you for being our guests.

Kind regards,
Portal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have done the day excursion to the Blue Cave and 4 other destinations in August 2013. The destinations were magnificent and we really enjoyed the visits. On the way back the wind picked up and unfortunately our Skipper was not experienced in carrying passengers in rough seas. We ended up with 2 passengers having to receive treatment for injuries sustained while the boat was jumping over high waves. I am a qualified skipper living on the West Coast of Africa and we know that choppy seas can still be a comfortable ride, if approached differently.

Thank Kobus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Public Relations Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear sir, we have carefully examined all stated in your review, and we have concluded that your review is not connected with our agency.
There was no injuries on the boat due the jumping over high waves, on none of our tours during August and this season, as you describe in your review. If something like that were happen we will have this information for sure.
Our company provide the tour to Blue Cave and Hvar Island already several seasons and we always try to make the tour to Blue Cave and Hvar Island pleasant for our guests.
We have very experienced and educated skippers, also our boats are safe and stable even when the weather is not suitable for steady navigation.
In Split there are several agencies that provide this tour with very similar itinerary. We are sure that you didn't book this excursion with our agency because we didn't have any information's about injuries on the boat, like you describe in your review.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Croatia.
If you will be visiting Split in the future, we will be pleased to welcome you on our tours.

Kind regards,
Portal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Extremely impressed with Split Excursions/Portal Agency. It has prompt, professional, friendly and courteous staff members that handle everything well -- email queries, clients at reception, and tour guides. Our family with 3 kids and 3 grandparents took 3 memorable, private tours during our week stay -- 1) Plitvice, 2) Krka with Sibenik, and 3) Blue Cave with Vis by speedboat. Our national park tour guide, Peter, was excellent, fun and very helpful. He even cheerfully carried my father's backpack full of camera lenses while trekking on a hot day through Plitvice falls. He provided a wealth of information about the history of Croatia, interesting facts, Croatian phrases, as well as planned the best routes for us to take to avoid long lines and overcrowded paths. Damier, our skipper guide for the speedboat tour, drove well, gave good info, avoided crowds, and provided great music for the ride. Will definitely highly recommend and use again.

1  Thank HFamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Public Relations Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience with us on private tours to Plitvice Lakes National Park, Krka Waterfalls with Sibenik and Blue Cave & Hvar Island.
Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation, we really appreciate it.
The comfort of our guests is the primary concern to our tour guides and skippers.

Kind regards,
Portal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a great day with these guys to Mostar - it was very well organised, and the guide and driver were really friendly and exceptional in making sure everybody was happy in the group. Highly recommended.

2  Thank colche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Public Relations Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your nice review. We are very glad to hear that you have a nice experience on tour to Mostar, and that you were satisfied with our services rendered by our team.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind regards,
Portal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portal Day Tours also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Portal Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing