We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cheese and wine”

Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox
Ranked #3 of 354 Restaurants in Split
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Wine Bar, European, Croatian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Paradox, Dalmatia's finest wine bar, is set in the heart of old town of Split. Paradox offers a comprehensive wine list featuring some of the best wines from Dalmatia & Croatia as well as unique selection of cheeses, charcuterie and delicatessen. The wine list features more than 100 labels of which at least 50 are available by the glass. Set in the historical surrounding of Split, Paradox, is a contemporary bar showcasing both the traditional and modern. Elm and oak furniture are set against exposed old stone and brick walls, highlighted with subtle lighting. The cozy and intimate atmosphere in the bar is contrasted by a modern cafe style terrace on the bustling square, only a stone's throw away from Diocletian's Palace.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great cheese and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went here one night and had a platter of three cheeses which came served with jam which worked quite well with the cheeses. We also had six glasses of wine between the pair of us and the bill was less than £30. Staff gave a little introduction to each wine. Nice place. We went back for cheese following dinner one night once we'd visited some of the islands.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    192
    31
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After reading all the great reviews and getting a recommendation from our hotel, we were looking forward to going to the Paradox. Unfortunately we did not feel it lived up to its reputation. We went on a Friday evening and they were very busy so perhaps this is why we did not think the service was very good - nor did we find the staff very helpful in making suggestions. It was noisy and crowded and the atmosphere was not conducive to conversation or savouring the wine and cheese pairings. I would suggest going in the afternoon when it might not be so hectic and you can get a bit more attention in choosing the pairings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Gecko17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoran P, Owner at Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Gecko17,

Thank you very much for visiting Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox and taking time to share your opinion with fellow travelers.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations. We are rather small bar and our team puts a lot of passion, energy and enthusiasm into bringing the best of Croatian cheeses and wines to our guests. If we have failed to do so on this occasion I am apologizing on behalf of the entire team. However, as we are not a tasting room or a wine cellar but a wine bar, we can't control the noise and at times, as you pointed crowded atmosphere. Moreover so on Friday nights which tend to be busiest evenings. Anyway, should you be back in Split in the foreseeable future, I hope you would give us another chance. . .

Sincerely,

Zoran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Really great atmosphere with very knowledgeable staff. Cheese platter was delicious, especially with the fig jam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannahcfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Number one for a reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We came here on our first and second night in Split as it was recommended by our hotel and really close by. On our first night we went for a pre-dinner glass of wine. We asked the waiter to recommend a nice local white wine and he recommended two from Croatia. They were both lovely, especially one which translates as 'from the Gods' which is made from grapes that are only grown in Hvar! The waiter was very friendly and helpful. The next night we came after dinner for a bottle of wine and a cheese platter. The cheese platter came with four cheeses with accompanying jelly for each, they were all really yummy and very reasonably priced, as was the wine. This place is an absolute must!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

When in Split, this is a place you should not miss!
Do ask for recommendations, they have some great Croatian specialties!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Superann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing