We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diocletian”

Diocletian's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.62*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split
More Info
$77.06*
and up
Split and Salona Cultural Heritage Day Tour from Trogir
More Info
$170.72*
and up
Split Walking Tour of Gertrude Belle: The Queen of the Desert in Dalmatia
Ranked #1 of 164 things to do in Split
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ruins of the Roman Emperor Diocletian's palace date back to the late 3rd to early 4th century A.D.
West Babylon, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Diocletian”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was awe inspring seeing the way people lived, so many years ago. The palace is still occupied, now as condos. Going into the 'cellar' was an exciting event. Many artifacts to see. Also, part is used as a market.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,459
    1,585
    356
    54
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The emperer knew where to build a palace.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Diocletian's palace you can feel the scent of the ancient time. Good guide will tell you alll about life, architecture in that time. In the summer you can see the Roman guard in uniforms like originals. For sure you'll enjoy walking the tour around the Diocletian's palace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All Roman culture is here”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I can't fairly describe Diocletian's Palace and Split, not at all. Because I wasn't a visitor of this wonderfull town... I'm it's resident. It's my hometown, I was born here and I spent my whole life, so any attempt to describe my be biased. But believe me, it's worth to see... not only Palace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great History!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Walking around, taking in all the history…a great experience. This area of Split was my favourite. The vibes were good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maxxxines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great History”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fantastic experience! Walking around the palace basement was just amazing. Being from Australia you really appreciate the history and how old everything is. The Bell Tower was great although quite scary climbing to the top as their OH&S is pretty much non existent- still a must do though. If your not big reader or researcher then get a tour guide or do a walking tour so someone can explain what your looking at and the significance of it- or do what we did and take your Lonely Planet book and follow the tour and read along as you go : ) Well priced for the upkeep needed as well I believe. For the whole town of Split you would only need 1-2 days to see the sights.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessa492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diocletian's Palace also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Diocletian's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing