We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet place in centre of Split” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant San Giovanni

Restaurant San Giovanni
Ranked #300 of 349 Restaurants in Split
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Sweet place in centre of Split”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Really good food, my beefsteak with french fries was excellent . My partner was eating fish on grill with swiss chard. It was all very tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mass999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    9
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger I have every eaten”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

When you are visiting a restaurant along the Dalmatian Coast, the last thing you expect to find is the best hamburger you have ever eaten. Usually, when traveling I make a point of trying the local cuisine but the day I was in Split I was in the mood for something American. When I spotted the hamburger on the menu I decided to order it -- expecting to be disappointed. When it was put on the table I was surprised to say the least. The bread was a wonderful flat bread fresh out of a brick oven. The meat was pressed thin and it had to be a very good ground steak instead of hamburger. The only thing on the sandwich besides meat was a wonderful cheese. This sandwich did not need anything else. It came with French fries that we okay but frankly the serving was so big I did not need them. My friend ordered a cheese pizza and it too was incredible. For the portion sizes we received the price was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and hope to get back there again one day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyHonaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average food and pretty expensive for small quantities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stopped with 8 friends.. service was terribly slow and food was below average (salad, pastas and fish). At the end, we were charged an average of 120 kuna per person for a dish and a drink...bread is charged... i do not recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eligido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not worth anyone's money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by with a group of friends for dinner at 9pm. There was room in the restaurant even though the area isn't very big, yet it took ages to get the food. By looking atvthe watch, it appeared that the food arrived after over an hour of wating, which is terrible of a restaurant that size. After an hour, we notified the waiter that we have waited an hour for our basic-type food and got a reply of "I know, 5 more minutes", which turned out to be 15 minutes.

The food was average, nothing special. I would definetely NOT reccommend this restaurant to anyone, as you will no doubt be disappointed. It wasn't that cheap either. There are much better restaurants in the area with the same prices or lower.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dammett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Relaxed atmosphere and excellent Dalmatian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I come from Italy and I am familiar with Mediterranean cuisine, but the food I tasted at this lovely restaurant is something great. The staff is very nice and friendly. See you again this year, San Giovanni.! ferragostoooo :)))

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank silvio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant San Giovanni also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Restaurant San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing