We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean, great location”
Review of Hotel Marjan

Hotel Marjan
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marjan
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Split
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean, great location”
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Our stay at this hotel was great.

It has a great location - close to central Split, the ferries, Diocletian's Palace, etc. We had a huge, perfectly clean room, and a lovely new bathroom with a brilliant shower.

Excellent beautiful harbour view and large shared deck from our room which was excellent.

Re the last person's review: We didn't care that there was only one lift available, as there were never more than 2 or 3 other people wanting to use it at any one time - we were always able to get in right away, and we always take the stairs when we're going down. The front entrance is fine, and we actually chose to use the (handy) side entrance a couple of times as it's right in the correct direction for the city.

This is a great place to stay if you're visiting Split.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LonKiwi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2008

When it opened in 1979, Hotel Marjan was a grand hotel. Unfortuneately, nothing has been updated since opening day. The once fine front entrance is smashed and borded up (you use a side door now), one of the two elevators is marked "luggage only"...I guess it's condemned...

The rooms are classic Soviet era. Oranges and Browns...(at least ours was, some had blue carpeting) Lighting was dim.

Some pipes were leaking in the hallway; there were wet spots in the carpet and a musty odour lingering.

The highlight was on the morning of check-out. I was taking a shower and the shower head broke off (not unscrewed, but broke). I told the front desk but they just acknowledged it...no apology.

The only good things about the Marjan are the location and the food.

The dinner and breakfast were excellent. while eating the spectacular fare, i almost forgot the depressing ambience of the room!

Another thing, we seemed to be the only guests there ( I wonder why?) :)

  • Liked — Location, food
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Deltatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Although Hotel Marjan has a great location, just 10 minute walk to Diocletian's Palace, the overall experience lacked the warmth and customer service we experienced elsewhere in Croatia. Our room faced a back street. When we inquired about switching to a water-view room, the response was "Impossible" -- no explanation, no effort to check and see if something was available. When I asked the cashier about converting Croatian kuna to US dollars, her response was an emphatic, "Impossible!" Finally she grudgingly said I could try a bank. No one here seems to have ever had customer service training.
The broken lock on our window gave some concern, since a short ladder would give anyone access to our room. The shower curtain stopped 10inches short of the surround, ensuring that water would flood the bathroom floor. The AC worked -- noisily. The TV set only had two channels that worked - the rest turned to snow after 20 seconds. The room was adequate in size, if eerie in its white and blue stark decor. Buffet breakfast was decent though not remarkable, with a very small variety of cold meats and cheese, breads, pastries, and fruit, though the fried eggs were cold. The hotel appears to cater to foreign visitor groups, especially from Japan. Staff seemed unable to keep the buffet offerings replenished. The kitchen must have been vented to the third floor -- everytime we came up to our room, we could smell the mixed aromas of the food in preparation.
During our final dinner at the hotel (only beef offered, with rice and potatoes, minimal salad, forlorn strudel, surly wait staff), someone broke into the room of two of our party, tossing their luggage contents, stealing their cameras, and leaving debris from the door destruction. Although notified as soon as the break-in was discovered, the hotel didn't send someone to guard the room and its remaining contents until the police could arrive. When it was pointed out that the two ladies needed a new room, the reception staff couldn't seem to understand, until finally they got the picture that the door wouldn't lock anymore. Two doors accessing the stairs and elevators were positioned out of direct line of sight of the reception staff, so anyone could have entered without scrutiny. I will say that the housekeeping staff did a great job, We scouted out a couple of other nearby hotels with more charm and friendlier staff. Hotel Marjan's main feature seems to be AC.

  • Liked — Close location to downtown sights of Split
  • Disliked — Chilly treatment by reception and wait staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Just stayed in Hotel Marjan for my final night in Croatia, before flying home out of the Split airport on my 2nd trip to this country. My experience was better than what others on this site apparently experienced. Positives: the hotel apparently had been recently renovated, everything was clean, the bathrooms were nicely furnished, room was huge (bigger than most US hotel rooms), there was no cigarette smell (all too common in Croatia lodging), and quiet with little road noise. Downsides: tiny (13") TV, scratchy bedsheets, tiny beds, cheap but serviceable furniture, marginally friendly staff. Room included a balcony overlooking the bay, and a couch, which was a surprise. As I left at 3:45am, I can't judge the breakfast quality.

It is a 10-15 minute walk to the Croatia Airlines bus pick up location (pickup 90 minutes before the flight), on the waterfront. I did not experience bad smells from the gas station. Much of this is par for the course in Croatia lodging, such as tiny beds, and less than friendly service.

Value for money is hard to judge. I find ALL hotels in Croatia to be overpriced. I paid 650 Kuna for this room (about $140 US) for accomodations equivalent to a Days Inn in the US. In most places, private accomodations are the way to go. You get the same quality for 1/3 to 1/4 the cost.

  • Liked — perfectly adequate for my needs
  • Disliked — tiny bed (narrower than a standard twin bed in US)
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

A friend booked this hotel for us and we were checked in mid-afternoon by surly staff who, when the elevator tried to kill me, paid no attention to my scream. Upon climbing the stairs to the rooms, we found lighting so dim that we couldn't even figure out where to place our baggage. Since our friend was waiting downstairs, we dropped and ran. When we returned later that evening, the lobby was deserted. It felt totally unsafe for women. Upon arrival at the room, I discovered the lighting was impossibly dim and the pillows were down. Being allergic to feathers, I finally located a desk clerk who said he had no other kinds of pillows. My colleague and I were not happy with the unhelpfulness, the old, scratched furniture (even though this low-rise part of the hotel was supposed to have been refurbished not too long ago), and we decided to leave. The desk clerk argued with us about payment and giving us back our passports. We argued back and he insisted on checking our rooms to make sure we hadn't done anything to them. Since we seemed to be the only people there, it was a bizarre and unsettling experience. We then found accommodations at the Hotel Park, which I can highly recommend. With so many other choices of hotels in Split, I can't imagine why anyone would stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rickiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Stayed one night here. Rooms basic but had a balcony with a view over the Split waterfront that was spectacular.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank NzSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

First, you should believe someone who stayed in this hotel, rather than someone who just looked at the outside of it. The hotel served as a refugee location during the wars in the early 90s and they trashed it. The owners have renovated the low-rise portion and the rooms are VERY clean and pleasant. They are beginning renovation on the high rise and pool area. We had two rooms, overlooking the harbor, and only booked a standard double room. It is an absolutely perfect location for the wonderful town of Split (five minute walk from the Palace). The breakfasts are huge, the food is nothing spectacular. The staff, as in much of the Balkans, don't know that smiling can be part of service, but they are not rude, just cool.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold efficiency
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RichardinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Punta Hotel Split
#46 of 55 in Split
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#19 of 55 in Split
183 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Fanat
Hotel Fanat
#21 of 55 in Split
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 55 in Split
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Authentic Luxury Rooms
Authentic Luxury Rooms
#25 of 55 in Split
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sweet Dreams Accommodations & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marjan

Property: Hotel Marjan
Address: Branimirova Obala 8, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Split
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marjan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjan Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing