We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal for an amazing price”
Review of Bistro Toc

Bistro Toc
Ranked #32 of 396 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing meal for an amazing price”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We came upon Bistro Toc via the Rick Steve's guidebook, which recommended the Black Cat. Apparently Bistro Toc is the new name for the same restaurant, so we came here for a meal (it was just a few doors down from our guest house).

The terrace was nice, but since there were only two of us, we decided to sit at one of the small tables on the street. The ambiance was very romantic (even though we are just two girlfriends) and the food was superb. We ordered the tuna steak which was cooked to perfection and a seafood pasta dish which was garlicy and delicious. We also ordered water and an appetizer and the whole meal came out to $23. The service was also better than expected.

The location is a bit away from the bustle of Old Town and the street is very charming and feels "local." I highly recommend coming here to mix it up a bit from the sidewalk cafes of Old Town and to enjoy a quiet meal in a charming neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gnahzmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    179
    61
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A family business making you feel at home”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ok, so my wife and I have been in Croatia for just over a week after having been in Rome and Paris beforehand. Long day swimming, snorkelling, walking and we are tired and in need of food. But NOT MORE SEAFOOD!!!

We came across bistro toc after a while of searching and weren't enchanted by the menu initially however the people were lovely and the atmosphere was great. Before we left, the greater asked us "what would you like and we can ask the chef?" which we were impressed with. Not just because it resulted in us getting a meal not based on fish or pizza (which Croatia is swimming in, excuse the pun) but also because te staff smiled and were out to please their potential customers, a seemingly rare trait in split i must say.

Finally all this was for a very reasonable price (under 150kuna for 2 mammoth sized portions and 3 drinks), and we were asked a few times how we were doing, were we alright, and also entered a short Convo with us. What I must say puts a very big smile on your face after 5 days in the 2nd biggest city in the country, probably the biggest port on the coast, a place you would think would generally welcome and cash in on potential tourist custom.

Btw you might have to wait a little longer than you'd be used to in UK or US if you're from there, but this seems to be Croatian culture. But for fresh food this good, it is well worth it!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ringham1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok, if you are lucky”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband had a risotto and I had pasta. The dishes we got were pretty large, but half way my pasta I got a long hair tied around it... that was the end of my dinner. We also got a bit of watermelon each before the bill, which was very refreshing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlinaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A lovely meal. I had the shrimp (70 Kuna) and my husband the lamb (70 Kuna) as well as a green salad. Food was delicious, presentation wonderful, service = fantastic and value for money, superb. We will probably eat there again tomorrow night

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KalahariSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value local food”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This restaurant's a little out of the way from the main tourist part of town but is that so bad! First,i've marked this place as average which it's not, it is good,just not very good.It is very basic in it's appearance with a bit of an outdoor terrace which overlooks a side street,so their's not much to view.Now the food.This is good basic local fare,nothig fancy here just honest food.I had the meatballs,which believe it or not were on the specials board,and they were as good a meatballs as i've tasted in a long time.The portion size was good but i wanted to order them again as they were so good but the wife said i was being greedy so i declined.Wife and daughter had salads which were fresh and tasty and good sized.Not much to offer in the way of a wine list just red or white! But hey ho this was good value local food with straight to the point sevice to match.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gourmetgannit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Toc also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Bistro Toc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing