We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more”
Review of Hostel Spalatus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Spalatus
Ranked #244 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Split
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for two night at the beginning of August. After booking on the internet the owner kindly e-mailed us directions on how to find the accommodation. They were detailed and it was fairly easy to find. It is in an excellent location, very central and within easy walking distance to everything you will need in Split. Although it is right near the main street no noise could be heard from our room. The lady at reception was so friendly and welcoming when we arrived. There was plenty of leaflets about places to visit and local attractions on the front desk and she also pointed out numerous places on a map, giving recommendations and answered any questions we had. The room was very spacious with air conditioning, a handy kitchen area with a fridge, a clean bathroom and a nicely decorated bedroom. Having a TV in our rooms was also a bonus as it was possible for us to catch some of the Olympic Games while we were there. A most enjoyable stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived a little early but the lovely woman on reception cleaned our room for us so we could get in at 12. The hostel itself was very clean and spacious and i had a great nights sleep considering its in the centre of town. excellent value for money - recommended. Also managed to get a taxi to the airport from a sign on the board for a good price. And a TV in the room !

The only negative is that is a little tricky to find but we emailed the hostel and they gave us very good directions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hostel is located in the heart of the city centre, 1min walking from old fish market. Staff is very helpful and friendly, rooms big enough and clean. Could not ask for more. Great value for money.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wsiolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Originally, we had only booked three nights here, but after the first night, we added two more days because we loved it so much. In the past three months we have stayed at over 15 different hostels & guest houses as part of a round-the-world trip, and this was one of our favorites.

The location is prime. It is located in the heart of the old town, just a two minute walk from Diocletian's Palace and ten minutes to the bus/ferry/train station. There are several restaurants, cafes, bakeries and bars in the area, but the hostel is located on of a very small and quiet street; so no issues with noise. There is a grocery store on the same block and tons of shops in the area. Basically, there is no better location in Split.

The staff members were all very friendly and helpful. The main person that we dealt with was Ivan, and he was great. While the reception desk is not manned most of the time, the staff speaks English well and it is very easy to reach someone via e-mail or phone. They always responded promptly and courteously.

The room was pretty basic, but had some small decorations that made it a bit cozier. It was VERY CLEAN and everything was in good condition. We stayed in a small apartment that had a double bed, desk, closet, flat screen TV with cable, kitchenette, and bathroom. It had windows on three sides which gave it a very open feel. The kitchenette had a small refrigerator, sink, and two-burner stove. No oven. Also included were a pot and pan, plates, bowls, glasses and utensils sufficient for two people.

We visited towards the end of the off season so we were able to get a good price, but even the posted in season prices seemed worth the money for what you get.

If we ever have the opportunity to visit Split again, this place will be on the top of our list of accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeremyomarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idamins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Diokles
Guesthouse Diokles
#108 of 195 in Split
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Central Palace Rooms
#116 of 508 in Split
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marul
Villa Marul
#79 of 195 in Split
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Pjaceta
Guesthouse Pjaceta
#109 of 195 in Split
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luxury Rooms Keko
Luxury Rooms Keko
#43 of 195 in Split
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peristil Luxury Rooms
Peristil Luxury Rooms
#88 of 195 in Split
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Spalatus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Spalatus

Address: Priora Petra 8, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range: $79 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Spalatus 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Spalatus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing