We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service. No tourist trap!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Monde

Le Monde
Ranked #97 of 354 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: European, Croatian, Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Local restaurant in historic quarters of Split known for great ambiance.On the ground floor a bar with indoor space and also 2 sunny terraces. A daily choice of homemade cakes
Salzburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great service. No tourist trap!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I have been here various times, they offer great fish and meat meals. This is one of very few places that offer good service in split. Nice and friendly! I can highly recommend this place, especially if you are tired of tourist traps!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    34
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
330 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Catch up with a friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Called in today expecting it to be very busy but we got a table without to much of an issue. Unlike the previous set up, they now work from a menu. Food and service were very good overall and we took our time catching up.

Happy to recommend a visit. I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“nice food with unprofesional service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good restaurant in very ceneter of the town, but service was realy bad. Steak wasn't prepared as ordered. But atmosphere is realy good and food was nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Certainly acceptable, but not fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our first meal in Croatia was at Le Monde so we were very curious as to what we would find. The restaurant was very close to our apartment and we chose it largely based upon the best recommendation that was closest to us. The atmosphere is very pleasant with three distinct seating areas. We sat inside, and the pleasant decor fit very well with the atmosphere of the old town of Split. The service was friendly and efficient and the ambiance excellent.

We ordered a featured dish - medallions of beef. Unfortunately, the description neglected to mention that the medallions were comprised of mince meat, and the french fries also did not add to the feel of the meal. The Le Monde salad was nothing special with cucumbers, tomatoes and onions. The highlight of the food was the tuna/anchovy mousse served with the bread, and the house wine was very acceptable and well priced.

We didn't have an opportunity to give the venue a second chance, but I would suggest visitors definitely ask specific questions about the dishes they are ordering.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
495 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I con firm the previous reviews: especially the coffee tables downstairs were mainly taken by locals, and although they do a lot of cooking for tourist groups, service still cares a lot. We had grilled fish and the red risotto for lunch, which was fine. Prices are reasonable, and the outside seating is very relaxed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Monde also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Le Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing