We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The penthouse at St. Luke's is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boutique St.Luke Residence
Ranked #16 of 165 Split B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The penthouse at St. Luke's is wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the penthouse at St. Luke's Residence 3 weeks ago and thought it was brilliant. The bedroom was nice and the air conditioning excellent, and the penthouse also has a great living room with a mini-kitchen and a wonderful roof terrace with fantastic views over the harbour. Particularly at night this feels incredibly atmospheric..... Niksa the owner is mad but lovely and very friendly, and makes you feel right at home. He gave us two free excellent bottles of red wine to drink on our roof terrace during our stay too!

Despite being 2 minutes walk from the sea, the apartments are incredibly quiet. The building is lovely and historic and has a communal lounge downstairs with free food. If you are thinking of staying in Split we would massively recommend staying here (in the penthouse if you can get it!), or at least in the Old Town. Split itself is not the most attractive city, but the Old Town is wonderful and atmospheric so why not stay in it rather than travelling in each day to see the sites (like Diocletian's Palace)?

One tip we discovered is that you need to book pretty much all decent restaurants (walking in and doing it at lunchtime is fine) to get a table for dinner, otherwise you will struggle as most of the restaurants are small with only a few tables. The food was excellent pretty much everywhere we went, but the best dinners we had were at Konoba Matejuska and Konoba Marjan just a few minutes away. Konoba Feral Pizza was nice for lunch too...

We would recommend visiting the Roman ruins at Salona and Trogir as day trips, and Diocletian's Palace and Froggyland in Split too. Froggyland is amazing - look it up on Tripadvisor!!

Raver & Kat

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Raver_and_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having looked at previous reviews we found this place very easily, and a quick stop in the information centre also helped. We were met by the mad, eccentric, and lovely man niksa. He is just like the reviews have said, way out there. He was so welcoming and friendly, it was a breath of fresh air from the other places we have stayed out. He showed us around and to our rooms. He has a communal area, which is lovely, big and airy. A great big sofa, with a TV, and other chairs to sit on. There were big bowls of fruit, biscuits, cereal and coffee. You can help yourself all day long, and this is free of charge, as Niksa says 'No Agenda'. He really had made this place to a high standard and everything was perfect. The room we stayed in was the double, and it was light, airy and just what you needed. It was perfect. So much so we have booked again for our last night in Croatia. This place is also so well located to the bus station, the ferry, the beaches and the town. You could not be any nearer. I would so recommend this place, and split is perfect. We are already talking about coming back for a long weekend break!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belindadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This place deserves the accolades on here- we stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it!

The building is gorgeous, rooms spotlessly clean with amazingly comfortable beds and one of the best showers I have ever had.

Location is great but a little tricky to find, my advice is if coming from the airport - get a bus to town and walk along the shore to the clock tower. Once you reach grill restaurant on left, turn left. Ps that fish restaurant is unreal!

Niksa is a fantastic host- so welcoming and provides a great breakfast with a all stocked wine bar!

Would without doubt recommend and we hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

St Luke Residence is slightly tricky to find as it's tucked away on a back alley that wasn't very well marked on our map and the check in process was a little confusing but it is great in almost every other respect.

The owner, Niksa, is really helpful and friendly - he was great when we arrived and let us use the communal lounge all day on the day we checked out (we weren't leaving until 6.30 so being able to store our bags all day and then relax for a couple of hours post beach was really helpful). He lays on a simple, but nice, breakfast at no extra cost (I don't think this was quoted in the price so a bit of a bonus).

The rooms are really well done with good air con and a really nice bathroom. It's also a brilliant location - about a 5 minute stroll to the old town walls. There's also a really nice little restaurant, Konoba Matejuska, on the street next to it with a couple of outside tables where we had a great lunch on the first day.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell the rooms were pretty much the same apart from the penthouse. 3 and 4 have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we arrived Niksa explained that he had created a place to stay which is everything you would want. I want Niksa to run every place that I ever stay again! This place is incredible. It has the atmosphere of home combined with elegance and style. Niksa was very friendly and helped us with everything. The rooms are beautiful with the most amazing showers. I can't recommend this place enough. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewanderer2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a great option for people wanting to stay in Split.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and the bathroom we had was fantastic. There was great air conditioning in the room as well which kept it very cool. There was also wifi.

There is also some kind of 'club room' with complimentary breakfast, teas, coffee and even wine and spirits which is available. We found it useful for grabbing a quick snack in between coming and going from the beach to dinner.

It is also really close to town, 5 minutes walk from the old town and plenty of restaurants, 10-15 minutes to the port and the beach.

Niksa, the owner was incredibly helpful. He is obviously really proud of what he has put together at St Luke Residence and although we had pretty set travel plans gave us some useful advice.

It is hard to find fault with the stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outofe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

An excellent apartment with nicely designed rooms with ecological thinking, fancy bathrooms, roof terass with beautiful view over the area, lounge area with free snacks and coffee (and even wine!!), good wifi. Nothing to complain about, this was a top notch place!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordic_Adventurer_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.1 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#20 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique St.Luke Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique St.Luke Residence

Property: Boutique St.Luke Residence
Address: Kraj Sv.Luke 29, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boutique St.Luke Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing