We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm…Macaroons!”
Review of Creme de la Creme - CLOSED

Creme de la Creme
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Creme de la Creme is a patisserie where you can enjoy exquisite French-inspired desserts, from colorful and delicate macarons to an extensive selection of cakes and tarts. We also offer you other popular international temptations such as cheesecake and tiramisu, but if your tastebuds crave for the traditional, splitska torta (Split Cake) awaits you, made using our grandmothers' recipes with all-natural, local ingredients. The quality of raw materials comes as first priority and therefore, we are proud that our desserts are made exclusively with butter, eggs, natural sweet cream, quality chocolate, fresh fruits, and locally-sourced nuts. All desserts are hand-made from scratch, and our goal is to provide our guests and customers with sweet satisfactions, as that gives us satisfaction. Other than desserts we also have a master barista on hand who proudly roasts his very own speciality coffee, promising the freshest blend for Creme de la Creme guests. Creme de la Creme is tucked into Ilicev prolaz, a passageway just off the Marmontova shopping street. At the end of the passageway, we offer outdoor seating on the charming Morpurgo Square.
Split
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm…Macaroons!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Been a sweet-tooth I couldn't resist this place… especially the macaroons, which are absolutely the best Ive ever tried anywhere. And been a tea drinker, I love the very fine quality teas served here. And a sweet surprise on my weekend visit was the special seasonal pavlova with fresh strawberries… made a perfect pick for this aussie!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PawlaSplit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Creme de la Creme, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Paula,

Thanks so much for taking your time to write a review here on TA. We appreciate your patronage and we are glad that the new pavlova gives you a piece of home here:-)

Best regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    75
    18
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great every time”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

If you feel like sweetening your day - I cordially recommend this place. I've been to Creme de la Creme a few times now and every time it proves to be - just great. The cakes are delicious and beautiful and super fresh every time I was there. The atmosphere is subtly premium and the place is great oasis if you want to get a rest from the streets of Split. I recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Creme de la Creme, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your patronage and thank you for taking your time to write a review about Creme de la Creme. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for some more cake and coffee.

Best regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Heavenly, heavenly cakes!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I stopped here while visiting Split and were charmed by the gorgeous looking cakes. They all looked absolutely delicious, but I went with one which had a chocolate and hazelnut base, vanilla creme brulee, milk chocolate ganache and bavarian hazelnut cream. I don't need to say anymore, it was as good as it sounds!!

We liked it so much that we came back here for dessert after a lovely meal (see Zinfandel review) on our last night here (it's open until 11pm every day) and I had the lemon cheesecake (biscuit base, lemon cheese filling, italian meringue) with a hot chocolate. This was every bit as good as the first sitting - I would love to come back for more and more!

The service is good here, the staff are professional but friendly too. Finally, a mention of the price - a slice of cake here works out at about £2, amazing considering what you pay for a bog-standard cupcake back in England!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t-rexx687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Creme de la Creme, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review about your positive experience in Creme de la Creme. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our cakes and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sweets for your sweets”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

if you feel like eating something sweet and you are in Split this is the place! charming interior, excellent service, maybe the best espresso in the city and definitely the best cakes. my doughter is in love with their chocolate cake and cups!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silvijabaresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Creme de la Creme, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Silvija,

Thank you for your kind words and taking your time to write a review here on TA. We are grateful for your patronage to Creme de la Creme and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Best regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy and charming,very professional!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

"Creme de la Creme" just as it says! Classy, very charming and professional.
You can find different cakes with wide range of tastes. My choice is definetely a carrot cake.
It has become my city choice to enjoy a cup of coffee and cakes.
" Creme de la Creme" - as it says.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Creme de la Creme, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Deni,

Thanks for your kind words and taking your time to write a review here on TA. We are glad to here that Creme de la Creme has become your personal 'creme de la creme' for cakes and coffee in Split.

We are happy to have you as our guest.

Best regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creme de la Creme also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing