We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, great cakes, and helpful hosts.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Vice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Vice
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Northern England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great cakes, and helpful hosts.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Villa Vice for 5 nights in September 2012
The Villa Vice is just far enough from the city so that noise and vehicle fumes can be left behind, but near enough to walk to the sights, the beach and the city centre within a few minutes. Quiet and suburban streets. Ask the very helpful hostess (Ivana) about the best walking route to the city on old pedestrian streets. We also had several restaurants recommended to us, and were offered help to book excursions.
Our apartment was well equipped for self-catering, but with breakfast provided, and with so many restaurants in the city we didn't use the kitchen equipment: although being English we wanted tea, and boiled water in a coffee-maker as there was no kettle.
Our apartment was very clean, with almost everything in it giving the impression of being good quality and new. We had a bedroom, almost totally filled by a large bed, a kitchen/living room, and a bathroom with shower. Effective air conditioning which we used on the first few days when it was very hot.
Breakfast was served in the garden, with omelette, fresh fruit, home-made bread, and home-made cakes. It was good. On a couple of days we had breakfast served in our room as the weather became wet & windy.
We asked for help booking a taxi on the day of departure, but the owner kindly gave us a lift to the bus station for our onward journey.

Room Tip: Our room was on the lowest floor, which was almost a basement. So no view, and it felt a little clau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

As others have noted, this is a small apartment style hotel, perfectly located in a quiet, safe residential area. An easy walk to both the town and beach provides a chance to see Split without using a vehicle. We cannot say enough good things about the owners. They were so helpful, and sincere about wanting their guests to have a great holiday experience. My husband is still raving about the perfect ham and cheese omelets and home made bread that Ivana made for us each morning. Breakfast was served in the sunny, peaceful, private yard .. a very pleasant start to the day. We found the apartment very quiet, clean and comfortable during our 4 nights stay in early September. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
99 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Villa Vice for one night when we first arrived in Croatia. The hotel has a small car park, plus there is parking in the road outside, which is useful. There were three of us and we had a 2 room studio. The two connecting rooms were small, with a small kitchen, and a dining table, there was no sitting area, so I wouldn't really call it an apartment. The bathroom, however was large. As we were only staying one night it was fine, but it wouldn't have been comfortable for a longer stay.
When we arrived we were asked to pay straight away and also asked what we wanted for breakfast, and what time we wanted it. Luckily the next morning we arrived at the stipulated time, as our breakfast was already on the table. I found this quite bizarre. Another table arrived late, so their breakfast must have been cold. The other tables had fruit, but we hadn't been offered this. They did bring extra coffee when we requested it. Breakfast is served in their back garden, so it was a pretty setting.
It takes about 10/15 minutes to walk into the old town, and it's a fairly pleasant walk, although ask before you set off, to make sure you are going in the right direction.

Room Tip: Quiet area, so probably doesn't matter where your room is. No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I strongly recommend to stay here during your vacation especially with kids. Your personal breakfast, amazing garden behind, clean rooms and this is not the end. The owners gave us useful advices which restaurant to visit, where and how should we go. The atmosphere here was so well-wishing. Next time we’ll stay exactly at this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agatha219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here in late May 2012. As soon as we booked we got a confirmation email from Ivana and she was very accommodating. Gordon and Ivana were great hosts who made excellent breakfast every morning and would basically make whatever you wanted them to. Gordon showed us where to go in Split on a map, and pointed out great restaurants and bars. The hotel is a 10-12 minute walk to Old Town and 5 minute or less walk to Bacvice beach and all of the bars and clubs there. Perfect location, very clean room, quiet at night, air conditioned, and very kind hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salvatore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Fantastic hosts, Ivana & Gordan! Good location to old city and beach. Very helpful people - super service - not the last visit to Villa vice!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Villa Vice is a charming little Nook in the midst of an old Split neighborhood, run by very gracious hosts. Our room was impeccably designed, clean and very pleasant. The villa is conveniently located very close to the harbor & local beaches. Diocletian's palace & the open market are a short walk west. The hosts are well connected locals who were always happy to assist with information, directions or suggestions. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.8 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#20 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
0.9 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#32 of 57 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#11 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Diana
Hotel Villa Diana
#17 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Vice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Vice

Property: Hotel Villa Vice
Address: Zhrnovnichka 12, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Vice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing