We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
Ranked #6 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hostel!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hostel for one night mid August after finishing a sailing tour. The hostel was really nice - quiet, clean and very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and always willing to help!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    31
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
11
74
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hostel was easily the best hostel I've stayed in before.
Travelling through Europe and ending our time in Croatia, we joked that we were princesses living in this palace.
Each bed has its own curtain which makes it feel as though you have your own little private room. Each bed also has shelves and a power plug inside this little haven.
The staff were so delightful, always friendly, always willing to help and always up for a chat.
They were also impeccable with cleanliness. Not joking, they literally moped up at bathroom as soon as you walked out- I cannot fault them.
If I had to make one comment it would be that the showers are a bit difficult, as limited changing space, but this was totally compensated by everything else being amazing.
I would recommend this hostel to anyone I know staying in Split!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My friends and I absolutely loved our stay in Tchaikovsky, the owner and his staffs were so lovely and helpful, some of the nicest people we met on our travels of Eastern Europe. They provided free breakfast in the morning, the rooms were very clean and spacious and the hostel had an over-all homely and comfortable feel about it. I would recommend it to anyone! I must say that the staff really did make a big impact on how much we enjoyed our stay in Tchaikovsky :)

Lauren, Amy, Rachel & Susan from Scotland X

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just had one night stay at Tchaikovsky Hostel but was very pleased with our stay. Managed to find the hostel without too much difficulty although sign posting is very small. Instantly greeted by very friendly staff and although our room wasn't ready yet offered us secure storage for our bags and pointed us in the right direction for some exploring. The hostel is probably the cleanest hostel I have stayed in. Decor was funky and fresh and security was high making me feel very safe. Very comfortable and sturdy bunk beds (with curtains for privacy).

Only slight down point was that to get to our 4 person dorm we had to walk through another dorm room which I felt bad for them but didn't cause any major concern. Hostel was more than happy for us to store our things in lockers below the building until we needed to leave the following day.

Over all very clean and friendly hostel, provided a good cereal for breakfast and was in a handy location to walk down to the waterfront and popular spots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here only one night but would definitely would have stayed longer or again in the future. The guest manager's were so lovely and helpful, recommending great places to eat and explore. The rooms were twice as large as we had thought, clean and overall the hostel was well organised with breakfast included, pre/after checkin lockers, in-room lockers etc. Centrally located in the old town and so close to many cute local wine bars and restaurants/cafe. Wifi superbly fast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleUKAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a sweet little hostel with just 4 rooms located on the first floor of an appartment block and less than 10 minutes walk to the old City. It's a great location and the hostel itself is brand new and very clean. The only problem is that because it is so small, the reception and kitchen/common room is right next to the bedrooms and the sound proofing is very poor. The first night someone was watching TV in the kitchen until early in the morning with the volume turned up and we could hear it all in our room making it impossible to sleep. Also our room (Swan Lake room) was right next to the reception and again more sound proofing is needed when you have people arriving to check in at midnight and talking loudly. Perhaps we were unlucky or perhaps our room was the noisiest but I found it too noisy and wouldn't stay here again, despite everything else being very nice. The price included a cereal and tea/coffee breakfast which was good and more than some hostels offer. Just one other thing is that the kitchen is tiny and you have to walk through it to get to the female toilets and showers which felt awkward sometimes when the kitchen was full of people watching TV or eating, walking through after a shower wrapped in a towel.

Room Tip: There is just one room which doesn't lead straight onto the main corridor. I would opt for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at this hostel briefly but enjoyed it. Excellent facilities (lockers, curtains on beds, plug socket by beds, shelving) in rooms with plenty of space. Good clean bathrooms. Very friendly staff and great location for old town, buses and trains.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easteuropetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#20 of 55 in Split
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Fairytale
Backpackers Fairytale
#21 of 484 in Split
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hostel 101 Dalmatians
Hostel 101 Dalmatians
#26 of 484 in Split
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peruzovic Rooms & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Split Guest House
Split Guest House
#8 of 484 in Split
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tchaikovsky Hostel Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tchaikovsky Hostel Split

Property: Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
Address: Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky Street No. 4, Split, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Tchaikovsky Hostel Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing