We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
Ranked #8 of 503 Specialty Lodging in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I would recommend this hostel to everyone... It's was clean, freshly renovated and great facilities. Loved the curtains on the beds, amazing coffee made by the owner and the free breakie. Location was great, just a short walk from the old town, close to Paradox wine and cheese bar and great super market.

Room Tip: Always ask for a bottom bunk as top bunks have top lockers and slightly hard to reach, especially if...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice hostel. Sited in an apartment located on a quiet street just behind the walled Roman city bit of Split. Handy for ferries, touring the old town and the bus station. Bunks have curtains, so there is a good sense of privacy. Also liked the fact there was a member of staff on duty practically 24/7, Felt safe and well-run. Staff were friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was really happy with this hostel. It only houses 20 people so it is quite small, but it means the staff pay greater attention to those who are staying there. The bunk beds are good, with curtains for privacy as week as shelves, night light and power point at each bed. Only 5 minute walk from the promenade along the water. No washing facilities, pool or fitness centre but it is a small hostel so couldn't really expect it.

Room Tip: I would ask for a bottom bunk as the top is quite high!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEKM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Good hostel. Small but nice. Good location and nice owner. Always clean. Free tea and coffee but no breakfast. Internet was fast! Although it did get quite loud one night- ie yelling in a dorm room, and the staff did not tell people to be quiet because people were sleeping and it was after midnight.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at the Tchaikovzky Hostel May 2013 with four friends and had one of the best holidays ever!! My first time in a staying in a hostel so was a little apprehensive that it would be exactly as the website describes and was very pleased to find it was lovely and accurate to the website!! I stayed in the Slave March Room (x6 bed) and found the top bunk a bit of a climb (no problem for someone more sprightly than me!!) but once I got up there found it cosy and comfortable with a personal night light, shelves and a power point. Each bed in the room comes with a curtain so I felt I had a certain amount of privacy whislt enjoying staying with others! All areas of the hostel - seperate bathrooms for boys and girls, shared food prep area and living room - were spotlessly clean. Cannot fault the staff, all were helpful in aiding us getting around and recommending places to go and see. Maya was especially professional with excellent language skills and a friendly aura! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotty1Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

perfectly situated hostel (next to the the old town but not in the middle of trouble)
very warm welcome by a helpful stuff (thanks Filip and Maya!)
clean and safe
friendly atmosphere:
the best place in town to stay for a low price, to discover the surroundings and to meet interesting travellers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krambambel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed with a friend in the 6 bed dorm, the hostel and all the rooms are immaculately maintained,
All the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Great location close to the old town, supermarket at one end of the street, fantastic little bakery at the other. A bit of a walk to the bus station/ferry port (20mins).
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jking79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.1 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#22 of 56 in Split
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Fairytale
Backpackers Fairytale
#22 of 503 in Split
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostel 101 Dalmatians
Hostel 101 Dalmatians
#27 of 503 in Split
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tchaikovsky Hostel Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tchaikovsky Hostel Split

Address: Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky Street No. 4, Split, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 503 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range: $18 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tchaikovsky Hostel Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing