We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
Ranked #8 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was really happy with this hostel. It only houses 20 people so it is quite small, but it means the staff pay greater attention to those who are staying there. The bunk beds are good, with curtains for privacy as week as shelves, night light and power point at each bed. Only 5 minute walk from the promenade along the water. No washing facilities, pool or fitness centre but it is a small hostel so couldn't really expect it.

Room Tip: I would ask for a bottom bunk as the top is quite high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEKM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Good hostel. Small but nice. Good location and nice owner. Always clean. Free tea and coffee but no breakfast. Internet was fast! Although it did get quite loud one night- ie yelling in a dorm room, and the staff did not tell people to be quiet because people were sleeping and it was after midnight.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at the Tchaikovzky Hostel May 2013 with four friends and had one of the best holidays ever!! My first time in a staying in a hostel so was a little apprehensive that it would be exactly as the website describes and was very pleased to find it was lovely and accurate to the website!! I stayed in the Slave March Room (x6 bed) and found the top bunk a bit of a climb (no problem for someone more sprightly than me!!) but once I got up there found it cosy and comfortable with a personal night light, shelves and a power point. Each bed in the room comes with a curtain so I felt I had a certain amount of privacy whislt enjoying staying with others! All areas of the hostel - seperate bathrooms for boys and girls, shared food prep area and living room - were spotlessly clean. Cannot fault the staff, all were helpful in aiding us getting around and recommending places to go and see. Maya was especially professional with excellent language skills and a friendly aura! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotty1Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

perfectly situated hostel (next to the the old town but not in the middle of trouble)
very warm welcome by a helpful stuff (thanks Filip and Maya!)
clean and safe
friendly atmosphere:
the best place in town to stay for a low price, to discover the surroundings and to meet interesting travellers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krambambel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed with a friend in the 6 bed dorm, the hostel and all the rooms are immaculately maintained,
All the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Great location close to the old town, supermarket at one end of the street, fantastic little bakery at the other. A bit of a walk to the bus station/ferry port (20mins).
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jking79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent a night here in March 2013, having booked three beds. The hostel is not on the riva, but Split is quite compact so you're barely ten minutes away from the water by foot. There are only six and eight person dorms, but each bed comes with a personal curtain, night light, shelves, and power outlet. The bathrooms and common area were very well maintained, with a TV, laptop, and unlimited (free) coffee + tea available for guests to use. The owner was also extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants and giving out info on the ferries. All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forthecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Well I've hit another gem of a hostel in Croatia. I'm starting to accept that as normal now. Tchaicovskys was clean, friendly and in a very good location. Its an easy walk to everything and parking can be had on the street. Lots of shops of every kind very close by. The owner manager is a prince of a guy and very helpful and friendly. The kitchen/common room was well set up and comfortable with TV, movie channel, tea and coffee (an espresso machine), bkfst included and a balcony too overlooking a giant lemon and fig trees. The room I was in was a large and roomy 4 bed with a computer desk. The lockers were huge (with hangers) compared to others I've seen - one for each bed with its own key. The bed was very comfortable with privacy curtain, shelving, reading light and its own elec plug. It's a new place so its well appointed with new fixtures and furniture etc. Phillip has done a great job of putting this place together.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willyddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#5 of 57 in Split
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Vice
Hotel Villa Vice
#30 of 57 in Split
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peruzovic Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tchaikovsky Hostel Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tchaikovsky Hostel Split

Address: Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky Street No. 4, Split, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range: $22 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tchaikovsky Hostel Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing