We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Konoba Marjan

Konoba Marjan
Ranked #17 of 402 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Come and experience our small family owned restaurant that father, mother and son run. As we are based on the fresh seafood our offer changes daily depending on what our nearby fish market has to offer. Try our cozy homelike atmosphere, fresh seafood and our wines and we will put a smile on your face.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Lonely planet pointed us in the direction of Konoba Matejuska which was fully booked so we were told to try the Marjan around the corner. We turned up and they had a lot of reservations but managed to squeeze us in. The waiter was great, he really understood the menu and wouldn't let us order drinks until he knew what we were eating to make sure it matched. We went for the fish plate for 2, all perfectly cooked. Great service, great food and all for £40 for 2 with wine. Give it a try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 807 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I booked and visited with high expectation by the other reviews. Sea bream was good. Risotto - I can make it better with nicer cheese. No visa card with a broken machine? Sounds like an excuse for avoiding fees or taxes.

4  Thank patrickperker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Stulic, Owner at Konoba Marjan, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear traveller
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write your review although it may not sound good. First of all we can not believe that you can say that you can make much better risotto with cheese because we do not have risotto with cheese. Also if it happens that our card machine has a teminal key error we can not do anything about it but wait for monday for the service to bring as a new one. If you think that we did not want to accept cards it makes us laugh as 90 % of our income is actually by card. Also if you think you are better chef than Marija who has 45 year experience of work in hospitality and can prepare food better than her we will be happy ti consider your apply for a job as we will be looking for one more chef next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Went to check it out due to the good reviews. Fully booked but they squeezed us in with an early booking 6pm. Fish was fresh and very nicely cooked- local Seabass. Can't fault it and decent value too.

Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great service and food - our very friendly waiter talked us through all the different options and explained about each fish and his recommendation of wine to go with it. Food itself was super-fresh and, most importantly, very tasty.

Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Peaceful atmosphere outside the Diolectian Palace and very lovely staff. Me and my boyfriend shared the classic "Fish Plate" which had both sea bass and bream, shrimp, cuttle fish, tuna and mussels in it. The food was very fresh and well prepared, the only thing I was missing was some sauce for the dish. Otherwise, very good experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Milla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Marjan also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Marjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing