We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Konoba Marjan

Konoba Marjan
Ranked #8 of 354 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Come and experience our small family owned restaurant that father, mother and son run. As we are based on the fresh seafood our offer changes daily depending on what our nearby fish market has to offer. Try our cozy homelike atmosphere, fresh seafood and our wines and we will put a smile on your face.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely evening. The waiter was great fun and explained the different types of fish to us, also made recommendations for us on and wine (apparently fish must swim!) which turned out to be fantastic. We would recommend the fish platter, fresh and cooked in a nice dressing. However, might be worth reserving as this seems to be well known in Split.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alirose_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    315
    66
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Great seafood at a great value! Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was the best meal (and also among the least expensive) that we had on vacation between Split, Dubrovnik and Paris. The preparation is simple, the cooking is perfect and the results are fantastic. My husband had mussels, which were garlicy and delicious and I had the sea bream, which was delicate and flavorful. We also had rice with shrimp and veggies as a side. Authentic food at a great price, this is just the type of place we are looking for on vacation!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LamontStreetsFinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as apraised...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Service was great, food was okay, quite overpriced, but understandable as near Riva. Hope to find something more authentic and reasonably priced for the next meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over estimated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a simple dish of fish and tought this would be the perfect place, according to TA, but our experience wasn't so pleasing. Had better fish in other kobana. Friendly staff, location away from the crowded "palace". The fish plate for two is quite rich in quantity, maybe our was overcooked

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giugliacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Stulic, Manager at Konoba Marjan, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi,

When a review like this happens I have an obligation to write a response. If you were looking for a simple fresh fish meal that is what we serve, freshest fish daily caught from the nearby fish market that is choosen with a lot of care by my mother, main chef and the owner. Dalmatian cuisine is very simple and that is how we serve it and prepare it. If You think Your fish plate was "maybe overcooked" that I understod that you don't know yourself if it was or was not overcooked. Preparation of the fish is simply grilling it with salt, extra virgin olive oil until the skin gets nice crispy and brown so it is imposible to overcook 1. class white fish especially if you have a chef with 45 years of experience in kitchen like my mother does. Our fish plate is rich in quantity indeed as there is about a kilo of fish on it sometimes even more and changes daily again depending what local fishermans have caught. So in my opinion it is a bit harsh to give a 3 star rating to a restaurant with 92% recommend that is held by hard working family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent Seafood Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had an amazing final dinner in Split. Starts with the waiter showing you the fresh fish that is available for the evening on a large platter. I went out of my comfort zone and ordered a whole small seabass, most delicious fish I had my entire trip! The mussels and tuna were also great! Meal ended with complementary blueberry brandy which was surprisingly delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Marjan also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Marjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing