We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood”
Review of Konoba Marjan

Konoba Marjan
Ranked #10 of 386 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Come and experience our small family owned restaurant that father, mother and son run. As we are based on the fresh seafood our offer changes daily depending on what our nearby fish market has to offer. Try our cozy homelike atmosphere, fresh seafood and our wines and we will put a smile on your face.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had the seafood plate for two, which has mussels, shrimp, langoustine, sea bream and sea bass. The fish was perfect, as were the mussels. The shrimp and langoustine were slightly overcooked, though tasty nonetheless. We ordered a mussels main course afterwards, since we liked them so much, and they did not disappoint. We had a bottle of white wine as well, a Posip Cara, but like a red more, the Zlatan Plavac more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gailyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    350
    71
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Incredible food, outstanding service”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked this restaurant (definitely recommend booking to avoid dissapointment - just walk in a couple of days before and book) for my birthday, we had the fish platter of the day that the waiter talked us through - was to die for if you love simple, freshly caught fish that day. A small, quaint and typically Croatia restaurant. Would recommend to anyone, service was great and great value for money!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuniar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Chanced into a great seafood lunch”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Coming down from a walk in the Marvan, we found this place. No one in the restaurant when we stepped in. The Waite showed us a selection of fish. We chose the sea bass, just one for the two of us. And a green salad. Fish was fresh, grilled in oil and salt. Very light. Perfect for a small lunch. Green salad, whitewine. Finished with a crepe of chocolate. Memorable. Excellent service. Will be hard to beat this meal. Credit card payment option was promised.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family restaurant at its best”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I got a recommendation from our hotel for a couple of konobas in this area. The first one was packed, so we ended up at Konoba Marjan and could not have been happier. The food was exactly as it should be for this area - simple and well-prepared to let the local ingredients shine. We had the fish platter for two (260 kuna). Great variety (mussels, shrimp, prawns, tuna, sea bass, and sea bream). It's almost too much for two people, but we could not stop eating. We had a late dinner so we were the last people in the restaurant. The waiter came over and offered us some homemade blueberry brandy, which had a great family story behind it. It was delicious and a great way to end the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfenschwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“one of best meals in Croatia, only a few tables.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The number of tables are few, so we were lucky to get there early in evening. No outside seating as of yet and credit cards not yet taken. The freshest fish is displayed on a platter which the waiter brought to table. We had the fish platter for two for 260 Kuna.; a lot to eat. Bread is excellent. Service perfect. One, of the four in our group was set on eating outside but the experience was so good that she was very happy to have eaten inside. I would have not tried this restaurant if it had not been for Trip Advisor. One in our group became a fan of trip advisor after this meal. He would only eat, beforehand, where Rick Steve advised!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Marjan also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Marjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing