We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very funky hostel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Design Hostel Goli&Bosi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Design Hostel Goli&Bosi
Ranked #98 of 439 Specialty Lodging in Split
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very funky hostel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hostel was pretty awesome! Still looks just like the pictures, very stylish, very clean and aircon is such a relief as you want in after roasting in Split! No room keys, just passwords, same for lockers all very cool. The location is excellent - just off the main promenade along the seafront and it was the same price as not-as-well located, very average looking places so its defo good value for money too. The staff weren't rude but certainly useless and the biggest problem with this place, being a hostel, it doesn't have a kitchen area, not even a bloody fridge, on any one of the 4 stories of the building. Certainly a design flaw** if you ask me, otherwise this place was spot on!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    35
    23
    21
See reviews for
15
24
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EMBelgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hostel is definitely one of a kind in terms of the interior. The hostel occupies prime location in Split with a cosy terrace in front of it. The hostel is quite pricy but definitely not extreme in Croatia. The rooms are very clean and again quite fun in term of design. However, they are quite unpractical with limited storage space and also almost no places to hang some clothes and stuff. For us it was fine since we were only spending one night there, but I guess if you're planning on staying more nights, you might get a little annoyed by that. Also, it's not really the kind of place where you'll meet a lot of people given the lack of common space. The only common space is the terrace, yet this is the restaurant's terrace so not everyone sitting there stays at the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Good points: Location is central, really very very good - you can wander the old town or along the boardwalk in minutes. Price is good for a dorm room. Restaurant has good prices and selection. WiFi works good and outside at the restaurant.

Bad points: Little bit hard to find, but once you find it, it's not hard to find again. I like the funky design, but the beds are hard to get in and out of. The worst though, for me, was the room temperature - the A/C is not adjustable, and I don't like waking up sweating. Bad air circulation since it's cooler in the lobby and hallways than in the room.

I would have given this place a 5 of 5 except for the room temperature. It's just not acceptable to be stuck in a hot box when the remedy of room mounted A/C units is not cost prohibitive.

I would definitely stay here again for the location and value proposition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipik, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not only that it has great location, but the staff are nice and kind. Rooms are absolutely amazing! Design is stunning. love the facts written on the floor!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hostel is centrally located. Main bus station and ferry are within 15-20 minutes walk. Price is reasonable but service is not that great. The lock of my room is broken for 2 days and still no one is coming to repair it. Staff attitude is just average. Air circulation in the room is poor, particularly in the shower. There are only me and another guest in the room so it is still bearable. You can imagine how hot it is if it is full house (8 guests). Also no laundry service is provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a double with private bathroom. Upon arrival, the receptionist offered us a 'premium' room for the price of a standard. stairs, escalator and lift lead you to your room.The latest was spacious, clean, bathed with light (in the morning some ray of light filter through the blind). Varius options for breakfast served with smiles. wifi is available

The only 'improvement' i could think of is the sounds insulation of the floor (you can hear someone walking with hills... no big deal for us though)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guapaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Let's start by saying it is a hostel, not a hotel. Although we had requested a double room, we wound up in a room for 6 people, sharing with 3 20-somethings from Australia. However, the beds are clever, each in its own little curtained cubicle complete with lights, wi-fi, and equipment charger outlets. Each room has its own shower/sink/toilet, so there were 5 of us sharing. There is a comfortable outdoor dining area, a downstairs bar, a fun elevator, great graphics throughout the place, and overall much more modern and private than most hostels we've been to. It is not far off the Riva, but no one seems to know where it is, so from the bus/boat terminal walk to one block short of the end of the broad walkway & take a right. Within 5 minutes & 2 turns you'll be there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmas_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B Kastel 1700
B&B Kastel 1700
#26 of 57 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostel 101 Dalmatians
Hostel 101 Dalmatians
#32 of 439 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adriana
Hotel Adriana
#59 of 164 in Split
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Emanuel
Hostel Emanuel
#25 of 439 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hostel Goli&Bosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hostel Goli&Bosi

Property: Design Hostel Goli&Bosi
Address: Morpurgova Poljana 2, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Golly&Bossy Design Hostel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 439 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Design Hostel Goli&Bosi 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So, you decided to check out Croatia this year? Small country in the southeast corner of Europe, with the cleanest sea, thousand islands scattered across the horizon, great sunsets, great food and wine and friendly people everybody was telling you about?So, it is decided. All you need now is a place to stay. Place where you can feel at home, from which you can go up and down the coast as you like and then come back to cool down within thick walls of an ancient Roman city.Why don't you try the second best hostel in the world? Leaning on a thick wall of palace it used to be a warehouse in the 16th century. At some point it's interior space was converted to a shopping mall and that is when we decided to make it into a hostel... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Design Hostel Goli&Bosi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing