We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will tell you what you should eat ........”
Review of Biser Orijenta

Biser Orijenta
Ranked #155 of 370 Restaurants in Split
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family Chinese restaurant operating in Split for more than 7 years. Delicious food, fresh ingredients and authentic Chinese recipes made it into a local gastronomic success story.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I will tell you what you should eat ........”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

First of all , we've to let you know that Croatia is a real jewel of the adriatic. Do not miss it
We've been told about the scarcity of exotic food in croatia. However after we have stayed for a few days, we managed to find this place with a few cabbies. The place have a nice lay-out on top of the rotunda building with a stereotype deco. We'had ordered a few dishes under an influence of constant craving for exotic or MSG ?The local they pre order food by phone since the cooking is quite slow. Here's a good dishy dish deep-fried pork spare ribs, stir-fried noodles, steam very fresh sea bass and some fritter dessert.
Other than that stir-fried any kind of meat or seafood will come in sloppy coated batter as in a small bits & pieces of unidentified objects. Fried rice with a kind of under cooked risotto type rice. All in all you need to spare them some credit of their adaptation which is based on scarceness of ingredients.
P.S. Try to sit away from the lady owner. Because that night she's keeping on breaking the wind. She might have her unusual rice and eat it !!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kaligoddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    13
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Having read the good reviews on TA we went here enthusiastic for a nice chinese meal; We were however bitterly disappointed. The service was poor, portions small, and food average at best. The sweet and sour chicken was particularly bad, and was left uneaten, favouring to pick up a snack on the way home. Perhaps our mistake was not getting the specialty duck, but we were unimpressed we the food we did get. Would NOT recommend!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MKilduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“not up to average standard”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

after reading excellent reviews, my wife and I went enthusiastically but were very disappointed with the food (service was fine). i have eaten and cooked chinese food all my life, and dont expect top quality everywhere. we are not fussy, and just expect an average meal. but this was below average. almost no pork in the sweet and sour pork, just fried dough with sauce. The fish dish and mongolian beef lacked flavour. I am not the complaining type but have to say food was flavourless. i hope it was just an off night for a temp cook, as i dont want to stop people from giving the restaurant a go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Having eaten here for the 2nd time in as many weeks, I must just say that the choice, quality and price is wonderful. The amount of food you get is enough to fill my husband and leave him very satisfied so thats a great plus. It's only a 5-10 min wander from the old town and parking is so easy. Well worth a visit but we were told it's best to book at the weekend.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roobag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
“the hidden jewel”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

i`ve been living in Split my whole life, but just recently i`ve discovered (with a little help from my forein friends) the chinese restaurant on top of Lavčevića building. good location, easy to park, gorgeous view (from the terase you can see the sea and nearby islands), nice decoration, polite staff and great food! i`ve tried chicken fried in sesame and a rice with wegetables (first time i didn`t want to experiment that much) to finish with fried ice cream (my favorite part!) and it was all under 100 kunas with drinks and everything!!! i honestly recommend this place, i`ll be wisiting it again, that`s for sure!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank st1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biser Orijenta also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split-Dalmatia County, Dalmatia
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Biser Orijenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing