We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, fun, funky and central”
Review of Hotel Luxe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luxe
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel Luxe is currently rated as the #1 hotel in Split on TripAdvisor, and in this case it very much deserves that ranking. "Boutique" is well deserved in this case.

If you are driving to Split, you will need to pay a little bit of attention to get to Hotel Luxe. A GPS (we used a recent TomTom) will find it on Ulica Kralja Zvonimira -- but it will come upon you quite quickly as you approach the harbour. What you will need to do is drive past the hotel, turn left immediately after that, and then follow the (narrow!) road to the hotel's guest parking lot (car park). This is a few hundred metres (less than 1000') from the hotel, but there are some steps involved, so if your luggage is heavy or you have trouble carrying it, you may want to drop it off in front of the hotel first before parking your car.

Inside the hotel ... the reception was the first taste of the design, and what really impressed me was the attention to detail: every little thing was thought out, and matched the overall design. Furniture, lamps, hallways, even the cutlery in the breakfast area all fit the modern design theme. Kudos to the hotel management for making the effort to complete the experience! The rooms are on the small side, but sparklingly clean, and the bathrooms even more so. However, the sea view is somewhat limited (see photo) as the hotel overlooks several blocks' worth of other buildings between it and the sea.

The hotel is only a few blocks from the harbour, which also hosts numerous cafes, bars and restaurants; the market and Diocletian's Palace are also only minutes away. The stairs up to Marjan (the best park in Split) are maybe five minutes' walk away. For exploring the city, the location really is excellent.

Hotel Luxe wasn't the least expensive choice at about 130 euros, but given its location and the outstanding interior design, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Sea view isn't really worth 20 euros in this case ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 709 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Luxe Hotel in Sept of 2012 and were very impressed with the location, the service of the staff, and the comfort of the rooms. Modern Hotel, comfortable beds and really great staff! The waterfront, Diocletian's Palace and the market area are all just a couple of blocks away - a short walk to all of the historiacal sites and many great eating establishments.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went there with a large group, stayed in the best room f the Hotel, the largest Suite, for 100 euros less. Was very nice breakfast and view of the port of Split. The staff was also extremely kind and helpful. Very good fruits in the morning as well as yogurt.

I liked also the smoker's lounge and the little inside terrace, to have drinks, on the fourth floor.
Located 200 yards from the center of town, it makes for a great location and a very good price for the quality of service and amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loripianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel is very central to the all the activities. We stayed in room 301, it was very neat although the carpet needs to be cleaned properly. Bedding clean, bed and pillows very good. Bath room very spacious and clean. Only down fall was the toilet paper (rough texture). Breakfeast was ok and needs some improvement though. No lunch or dinner served which was disappointing although there are many caffes around not too far off from the hotel. No kettle in room for a quick cup of teat/ coffee or iron available, although the hotel does offer the laundry service to guests.

Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Staff although friendly don't give travellers the right advice when requesting information about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My sister, cousin, and I stayed at Hotel Luxe two nights October 16-18. We very much enjoyed our stay! The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and spoke good English. My sister and I shared a double room with a balcony. The room was good sized and comfortable; the view of the entire Split harbor from the balcony was breathtaking; the bathroom was clean and well appointed; you could pipe music into the room if you wished. The WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel was excellent. The breakfast buffet both mornings was good and complete, though not always replenished quickly. One thing you need to get used to at Hotel Luxe is the color scheme; get ready for lots of purple. But if you can get past that, it is a trendy and convenient place to stay. The hotel is located very close to the Riva, Diocletian's Palace, and all the other top sights in Split. It's also located close to the train station, the bus station, and the ferries. Recommended; we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmerikanacUHrvatskoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Luxe and we were happy with both the accommodation and service we received. Our room was quite small, but adequate for the two of us and our luggage. The decor was very modern and tasteful. Breakfast was of a good standard with a reasonable variety of food. The hotel is situated in an excellent position, very close to the main ferry terminal and major city sights. If you intend driving to Split it is a must that you book a car space as the hotel has a small car park area in a street at the rear. There is free wi-fi in the rooms and we both thought this hotel was very good value for money. I would recommend a stay at Hotel Luxe if visiting Split.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was in split in Aug and stayed at hotel luxe and must say that I enjoyed my time there. I was there with my cousins so we took a suite, which was very spacious and well lit. had lots of sun shining through even though we were on the 1st floor, there wasn't much of a view but we hardly stayed in the room long enough for it to bother us.
so here are the pros and cons of the hotel, i will start with the cons first:

Cons:
1- the fitness facility is small and in the basement with disco lights, there's only a treadmil, a mat, weights, and one bike. so if your a fitness enthusiast do not expect a full gym and the treadmill is not state of the art.
2- the breakfast are is small and the choice of food is limited, but overall it fine so do not expect a big buffet.

Pros:
1- Location location location, very close to split town walking distance from the center of town.
2- friendly reception staff and helpful
3- spacious rooms and their clean
4- its in a safe area.

I haven't used the spa so I can't really comment on it or it's services. the most important thing to note is that this is a botique hotel so do not expect the luxuries of a traditional hotel or resort.

overall my experience in this hotel was good and I would stay there again if I'm in split.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salireza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.3 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#7 of 58 in Split
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
0.3 mi away
Piazza Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxe

Address: Kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Split
Price Range: $83 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to imagine that in the same place where a factory was built almost 100 years ago today stands Dalmatia's most exciting and fashionable boutique hotel. Within steps of the ancient city of Split you can now enjoy old world charm and state of the art luxury. Hotel Luxe features comfortable and modern rooms, a cozy wellness area, dining room and lobby bar with a view of the city life of Split. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing