We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying within the walls of a Roman palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diocletian Palace Experience
Ranked #17 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Ideally located, within walking distance of bus and ferry terminals, in the very centre of the old town. Easy to find, with very helpful, English-speaking staff available from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Lots of assistance with local activities, restaurant discounts and travel arrangements (including a 4.45 a.m. airport transfer).

The room I stayed in was perhaps expensive for a single traveller, but would be ideal for a group or family (sleeps five easily). Basic features, including small bathroom and some kitchen facilities, but as much as you would reasonably need. No room service or breakfast. You let yourself in and out with a key.

If you're looking for no-frills accommodation in an excellent location in Split, do consider this place - I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thanks to all for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleHankyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

If you understand what you are getting, diolcletian's rooms is a great place to stay. First it's in the heart if Split, close to everything. Second, the price is reasonable compared to the more traditional hotels, and third it is impeccably clean. It is like a hostel...there are no amenities other than wifi. But you are so close to great restaurants that you don't need to have that in the building.

We were on the top floor and there is no elevator but Ivan carried our bags for us. We had a beautiful balcony with the most amazing views. It was well worth the hike!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreznikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had booked a basic double room, but were offered an apartment for the same price - not in the old city but near the bus and ferry terminal, just 5 minutes walk to the beach. The accommodation was fairly basic but quite acceptable for just a couple of nights. The beds were sofabeds so not too comfortable and you probably wouldn't want to stay a week. Loved Split - great place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwearyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Location could not be better. Right at the center 1 min from everything; bus station, train station, port and old city center. Rooms are clean, simple, but very comfortable. Staff is very helpful. They helped us to plan the rest of our trip with very good inside information. loved to come back and stay there for more then 2 days.

Room Tip: anything inside the palace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

nice rooms, clean and simple, friendly staff who helped us with everything needed and gave us some really good tips about our trip..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Nice and clean apartment in the center of the Palace. Very helpful hosts

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

It is located withing the old walls and is an apartment on the second floor. There was 2 bedrooms which were both very large and clean, with a bathroom too. NIce new wooden floorboards and everything modern, but basic, not too over the top. The managers were super friendly and picked us up from the airport and have us some tips of things to do. Close location to everything! Stayed here for 6 days, definitely recommended!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank skibunny101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#23 of 58 in Split
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#9 of 58 in Split
710 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ark Beach Apartments
Ark Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in Stobrec
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diocletian Palace Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diocletian Palace Experience

Address: Nepotova 4 | in the heart of the Diocletian palace, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Diocletian Palace Hostel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range: $96 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diocletian Palace Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diocletian Palace Experience.. place located in the center of the Diocletian Palace, 1700 years old, on the east wall of it. The unique experience and memory making place, just few minutes walking distance from the bus, train and ferry terminal. In walking distance there is a majority of the main historical and cultural attractions to see and to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Diocletian Palace Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing